We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what it use to be!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pompano Joe's

Pompano Joe's
Ranked #22 of 300 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Pompano Joe's opened its doors in 1995 and quickly became known for their unique Caribbean style of seafood. Since then, it has become a destination restaurant for tourists and a favorite among the locals. The Caribbean flair shines through from our famous Reggae Rolls and Garlic Crusted Grouper to the brightly colored window frames that line the walls of our open-air restaurant. In 2013, we opened the second Pompano Joe's location at Pier Park in Panama City Beach, FL. When visiting Destin, South Walton or Panama City Beach, we hope you stop in and enjoy the great food, refreshing drinks and the best view on the Gulf Coast.
Level Contributor
117 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not what it use to be!!!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Last time in Destin we loved Pompano's we even at there 3 times in 9 days. Not sure what was going on? The waitress Karen was the worst we have had in a long time took asking 3 times just to get water! Maybe she was just having an off day?!? The food was not nearly as good or have the flavor we were expecting nor what we remember from last time. We were later in the evening getting there (9 ish) so we were not in the dinner rush. We thought we would have great service and food but were sadly mistaken. Our food took quite a long time to get and like I said just not very good considering not only the cost but what we had in past! Our neighbors had eaten there the same night and they felt same way... Food and service just not what it had been the past years we have eaten here. Hopefully that won't remain this way for not sure we would go back and it's usually a favorite of ours :(!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sun3girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,192
    853
    339
    107
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Campobello, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

While it is a little touristy (and I prefer to avoid the common tourist traps) this was a great restaurant. We ate inside but on the beachside and they have the windows open, and by that I mean they are pulled up to the ceiling. The view of the beach and the ocean while eating was fantastic.

The food was good and reasonably priced for what you are getting. The place was crazy busy with all the wait staff running and hustling to keep orders coming and drinks filled. The management must work them hard but that means the customer is a priority.

Will definitely eat there again if ever on this gorgeous strip of coast in the future.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good seafood with a view”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We arrived @ 6:45 on a Thursday evening and were told it was a 2 hour wait. The good news is they will send you a text message when your table is ready. So we went and played a round of putt-putt at a place about a mile away. We got a text message after 70 minutes telling us our table was ready so we rushed back over and were seated quickly. We had a table with a great view of the beach. We all had different types of seafood and found them all to be very good.

Overall, it's a popular place with good seafood, but be prepared for an extended wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food but price less than to be desired.”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were in Destin a couple weeks ago with family and Pompano Joes had been predetermined by all for our dinner night out.

From the get go I would say that I wish that as popular as the restaurant is, that they would have a wider, and not longer, parking lot than they do. Even if it stretched across the street would be fine. We weren't happy with parking a quarter mile away. The wait was a little more than an hour, but with immediate beach access it was hardly noticeable as we were able to relax and have fun on the beach while we waited.

Service was decent especially considering how busy they were. The food was good, but upon receiving the check, we realized that we didn't feel it was truly worth the price. They really should come down on the price. Honestly I could've gone to Popeyes and been totally fine.

So all in all, great atmosphere, great location, but for the price of the food, I think it should be better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris-Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get there early!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Got there early for dinner, seating was fast and easy. Not thrilled with location of our table, felt like I was sitting on a busy road. Food was fast and good, gumbo was a little hotter(spicy) than I'm used to. Service was good, waitress was knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. Try the key lime pie, really good. Lots of families with small children and real noisy but the location explains it. When we left the line was way out the door.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larry22109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pompano Joe's also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Pompano Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing