We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beach Eatery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pompano Joe's

Pompano Joe's
Ranked #20 of 301 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Pompano Joe's opened its doors in 1995 and quickly became known for their unique Caribbean style of seafood. Since then, it has become a destination restaurant for tourists and a favorite among the locals. The Caribbean flair shines through from our famous Reggae Rolls and Garlic Crusted Grouper to the brightly colored window frames that line the walls of our open-air restaurant. In 2013, we opened the second Pompano Joe's location at Pier Park in Panama City Beach, FL. When visiting Destin, South Walton or Panama City Beach, we hope you stop in and enjoy the great food, refreshing drinks and the best view on the Gulf Coast.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Beach Eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Pompano Joe's has that great beach eatery atmosphere...big windows that open to the Gulf New Orleans' Bourbon Street-style...Jimmy Buffet and reggae music...great Happy Hour from 3-5PM (at least during snowbird season when I'm there) with $1 drafts out at the deck bar and $3 wine (though I prefer my wine in a regular wine glass, not plastic...are you listening, P Joe?) Love their Seafood Gumbo, Coconut Shrimp, Calypso Jerk Chicken Sandwich, Garlic-Crusted Grouper with Lobster and Smothered Chicken.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sigma62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,158
    834
    328
    106
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great, but a bit pricey!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We checked out this place on our first night in town due to my boyfriends find memories of the place. While I loved the drinks, food, and the service couldn't have been better, I did think the prices were a bit high. $18 for some chicken tenders. They were delicious, but not that delicious. We split them and some entrees. The strawberry daiquiri was delicious and came in a souvenir cup! In the summer or on warm days you should sit outside, soak in the rays, and enjoy live unix while watching the waves. We will be back!

Helpful?
Thank TxZetaNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doylestown, pa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beachside bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great casual food. Sandy floor. Super friendly staff. Gluten free prep. Top shelf margaritas that just want to make you have more. Don't miss the smoked tuna.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikedoylestown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great view, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Ate here on March 12, 2013 for lunch. Had the seafood gumbo which was rated number one in the area. It was pretty spicy and did not disappoint. Had a pina colada and it was good tasting and a good size. The service was good and oh what a view of the gulf. Definitely recommend visiting here.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alhoutex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1 review
“Excellent Restaurant on the Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have lived in this area for 3 years, and this is about the best Restaurant with fresh seafood. I absolutely love their Scallop dish, and all the appetizers. This is the it place for great food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank koreanhope77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pompano Joe's also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Pompano Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing