We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Spectacular View and Great Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AJ's Seafood & Oyster Bar

AJ's Seafood & Oyster Bar
Ranked #36 of 301 Restaurants in Destin
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: To read about AJ’s is one thing... to experience it is another. Come see why AJ's Seafood & Oyster Bar has been the place to be on the Emerald Coast for nearly 30 years! Join us today! Doors open at 11:00 am! See you soon!
Destin, FL
Level Contributor
113 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“"Spectacular View and Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We arrived with our party of 6 for a birthday celebration. We decided to sit on the rail on the upstairs Bimini Deck as the early band was playing and the view of the fishing fleet and the harbor was totally captivating. The limited menu that is served upstairs pleased us. Our food arrived promptly, was prepared as ordered and tasty. During our meal the house band came on stage and played upbeat music and we all danced and had a great time. Considering the Bimini Deck can be crowded and people are up and down constantly,our server was friendly and attentive and we recommend this restaurant for a well- priced seafood meal and fun experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nanGDestin_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    485
    355
    188
    123
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not going back again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We had visited Destin in November last year and had a great experience at AJ's. When we returned we were full of anticipation to eat there again. This time it was like a different place. The service was bad and the food only mediocre at best. The first time we visited this trip we sat down stairs and was very disappointed.We thought maybe this was just an off day so were returned and asked to sit upstairs were it is much more comfortable and has a spectacular view. We were greet by an extremely unfriendly server. She was rude and almost intentionally seemed to not want to wait on us. We had our 9 and 11 year children with us and this seemed to be the root of her aggravation. Needless to say my children are very well behaved, I was deeply insulted. We left. Bad Bad Bad. Go to Harry T's instead where they care about their guest.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lthornell, AJ's Social Media Director at AJ's Seafood & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Jackie, I was glad to hear you had a great experience on your visit in November and thank you for coming back to see us again. I'm sorry to hear about what recently happened though. It's very disappointing to hear that we have someone on staff that doesn't know how to treat our valued guests. This attitude is NOT what we're about. I would like to have our upstairs management address the staff on this matter. Do you remember which day you visited us and who your server was by any chance?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
288 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fun place to visit and see the fish brought in.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Busy and loud but the food was good. Get the Tuna is was tasty and make sure to walk around and see the boats bring in the fish from the day. If you bring kids they will
Love it!

Helpful?
Thank Sjwiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing Special about it!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Steaks and Service awful!! It was obvious the waitress hated here job!! Not what I expected! Truly did not meet expectations for the BUCK!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Machell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Run of the Kitchen" is Great to Share”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

We once loved AJ's. The service is now lacking. The seating attendants seem annoyed with the tourists.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelingmomwith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AJ's Seafood & Oyster Bar also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to AJ's Seafood & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing