We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach bar at its best”

AJ's Seafood & Oyster Bar
Ranked #46 of 306 Restaurants in Destin
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: To read about AJ’s is one thing... to experience it is another. Come see why AJ's Seafood & Oyster Bar has been the place to be on the Emerald Coast for nearly 30 years! Join us today! Doors open at 11:00 am! See you soon!
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beach bar at its best”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great atmosphere especially on the open top floor. Excellent views of the harbor. They have bands playing most nights. The service was great and drinks were fairly reasonable for a tourist location. The only complaint would be for the uncomfortable stools outside.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Les F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    690
    524
    387
    208
    139
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere - expensive prices!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Overall AJs was ok. The food was acceptable but way over priced. I had the stuffed shrimp. It was good but not worth what we paid. My daughter had the fried shrimp. She didn't like the seasoning on them. It was priced WAY over what we normally would pay for a shrimp plate. My husband had the yellow fin tuna and it was average.

Be prepared to pay at least $100 for three people without appetizers!

We enjoyed the fireworks show!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linss34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best fish we had in Destin”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We ate there for lunch, and for the overall price, it was close to the best we had in Destin. Everywhere near the water in destin is overpriced. But AJ's had the best fish we had in town. The shrimp was good and with drinks, the price for 3adults and3 kids was around $75. Very reasonable value. The view on the dock was great and the place was a lot of fun. We would recommend it as a great lunch choice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darr-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food--but too expensive!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is good and being right on the water is nice and the food tasted great--but the price was too costly. We ordered an appetizer, one entree, and a kids meal and it was $50. I would look around for a local favorite and skip the overpriced tourist spot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripTrioGals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We've come to this restaurant every year for the past 13 years. I don't think we will go back. I always get the fried shrimp platter, my husband The Run of the Kitchen platter. We were eating around 6 pm with a few other diners. Our food arrived almost cold. The fries weren't even warm, the shrimp was mushy and the hush puppies cold. Not what I expect to get when you pay $23 and $28 for a plate of food. The service was adequate, but the food was not up to the standards we expect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rae W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AJ's Seafood & Oyster Bar also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to AJ's Seafood & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing