We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stopped just for their famous key lime pie..mistake”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Donut Hole

Donut Hole
Ranked #1 of 21 Dessert in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
plano texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Stopped just for their famous key lime pie..mistake”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stopped in just for key lime pie because they say they are famous for it...WRONG. It was disgusting, it was so bitter and seemed like something was missing. I had two bites and threw it in the trash. We wanted to go for lunch or dinner but after that pie thing we decided not. I know they have been around for a long time, but we won't take a chance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teatexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,623
    659
    252
    83
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Okay breakfast”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Wasn't bad, wasn't superior. Found other far better places in Destin. Server was as friendly as they come.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heatherpiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing corned beef hash”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I love this place! I ordered eggs and corned beef hash expecting the usual mystery meat salt-laden mush you usually get. What a surprise! I got about a pound of beautiful, lean corned beef. A slab with some interspersed potatoes. Best I've ever had, couldn't even finish it all. Great biscuits, grits, and everything else too. There's a good reason this place always has a line out the door and not one of them is complaining about the wait!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great donuts”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The line at 9#0am was still over an hour ,so we just got donuts they were great , try the key lime . We called and orderd a key lime pie for latter

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Bakery in Destin”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

There are breakfast places, and then there's the Donut Hole. Fast, friendly service in this locally-owned restaurant that specializes in breakfast but is actually open 24 hours. Huge menu including homemade buttermilk biscuits, eggs, omelets, breakfast burritos, smoked bacon, sausage, ham, biscuits, pancakes, muffins, fresh fruits, French toast, etc. A bit expensive compared to other breakfast restaurants but then they won't have the bakery selections like the Donut Hole does. Come check out the sticky buns, cupcakes, scones, cake doughnuts, cakes, and of course, you must get a piece of the best KeyLime Pie in this world! if you are eating during the week, make sure that you get there before 7am or you will stand in line for a bit. I highly recommend this establishment and have eaten there every year for the past 25 years. They are the most consistent eatery in the state.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aemint4060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donut Hole also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Donut Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing