We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Personalities & Awesome Oysters”
Review of Acme Oyster House

Acme Oyster House
Ranked #57 of 303 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cool Personalities & Awesome Oysters”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Sit at the bar, order a beer and watch the guys shuck fresh oysters. It is not uncommon to see celebrities here and the blonde, long-haired guy behind the bar is a former stunt man whose been on Johnny Carson and appeared in many films. The staff is fun and friendly and the location is reminessant of the original New Orleans location.

My top items:
Raw Oysters
Chargrilled Oysters
Boo Fries (with roast beef gravy and cheese)
Albita beer

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JvanderGraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    114
    79
    34
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Miramar Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Taste of N'awlin's”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Acme Oyster House in Baytowne at Sandestin is a little taste of New Orleans.
Had lunch there with a friend on Monday.
I had the Red Beans and Rice and she had the Jambalaya.
Mine was excellent and she cleaned her plate!!!
The waitress was very attentive and we did not want for anything during the meal.
Very relaxed atmosphere and we had all the time we wanted to sit and enjoy the meal and the company.
Have been to both the New Orleans location as well as the one in the Keys.
This one rates right up there with the other two.
Outside seating is fun for people watching when the weather is nice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank firedog1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, Tennessee
Level Contributor
160 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Our group of Golf Buddies ate at Acme on a Sunday evening hoping to get our first taste of Gulf Seafood. We were all disappointed. Most all the food was very salty tasting including the oysters. The Server did a good job but could not make up for the poor tasting food.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1Timetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We sat at the oyster bar and had a wonderful time. THe grilled oysters were a wonderful suprise.
Never had them but will again. Steve the shucker was a hoot and ask why he has a picture of him and Johnny Carson over the bar. The chicken Gumbo was wonderful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just as good as the original”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Having been to the original Acme in New Orleans, I was very excited to visit the one in Destin. We always get the raw and the chargrilled. The oysters this time of year are small (really small once chargrilled) and a bit disappointing. However, they threw in one or two extras to make up for it. I would have rather they adjusted the price. Regardless, the oysters were fresh and delicious. We also had the hush puppies. They are served hot with butter. These are some of my favorite hush puppies. We also got a bowl of the gumbo. Nothing special and I probably wouldn't order it again. The prices are higher than some other places to get oysters as it is in a tourist area. The waitstaff is always friendly and will go out of their way to make your visit pleasurable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julemegami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acme Oyster House also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Sandestin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Acme Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing