We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“July 3”

McGuire's Irish Pub
Ranked #5 of 300 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“July 3”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I had the tuna steak and it tasted like tuna out of can. The bean soup wasn't for me. The black bread was about average. We had the homemade root beer and it was average but served a little too warm for our liking. My girlfriend got the 12oz fillet and it was AWESOME!!!!! If I go back, I will get steak for sure.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandon38801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,550
    1,105
    292
    91
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north carrollton ms
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overpacked expect a long wait.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

The food was decent and the atmosphere loud and busy. Expect a long wait here. Not the place for smaller kids. This place is more for the 18 and above crowd. Service was friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharonsmith7277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austell, GA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband, daughter, and son-in-law ate at McGuire’s on June 30th. Parking can be a challenge (we were blessed enough to squeeze into a parking spot in an otherwise full lot), so it has been recommended to use the $5 Valet Parking (I will remember that next time if we are not so fortunate).

Once inside, we listed ourselves and it only took 15 minutes for us to be seated. Being that this was our first time eating in this particular establishment, we were quite impressed with all the $1 bills hanging on the ceilings and pasted to various walls of the restaurant (we were told there are approx. $1.5 mil. bills hanging or otherwise affixed inside the establishment).

Our server, Gina, was attentive to our needs. We started with the 18 cent (yes I said 18 CENT) bean soup – which could have been a meal in itself! – as a starter. We all decided to order the steak burgers, which were quite huge (3/4 lbs) and came with a side of our choice (I had BBQ beans). The meal came with all the bread and butter that we could ever want. My daughter ordered the Irish Wake and was unable to finish it, but she really wanted it for the souvenir jar. Also, be aware that the restroom signage can be confusing (you will know what I mean … if you have to go badly, just pay attention!).

After dinner, we perused the Gift Shop which is reasonably priced with T-shirts, wines, ales, and other souvenir items of interest.

All in all, we left with full stomachs and good warm fuzzies. My sister, her two girls, and I will be coming down in about 3 weeks, and we will be eating at McGuire’s.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KayGee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant on earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

I am 30 years into this life and McGuire's Irish Pub is my favorite restaurant on earth. I had a Skippy Peanut Butter Burger. That is a large beef patty topped with Skippy Peanut Butter on a bun with a side of fries. The fries are coated potato wedges of the frozen variety. The bread served at this restaurant is heavenly. The bread is dripping with honey butter upon arrival to the table. The bread is served on a board. It's AWESOME. Burger meals are about 12 each and are huge, shareable.

The ribeye was very good and came with two fried onion rings and we chose a baked potato (w/ sea salt) and green mix salad. Skip the ranch dressing. All of this was very good.

There are over one million (REAL!) one dollar bills that line the walls of this restaurant. Amazingly it doesn't smell. Go. Enjoy!!! I did and I will again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wrestlingfanfromtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Great food, excellent service and most of all , the kids loved it!! The Boxty appetizer is great!!! The potato skins were a hit with the kids!! The Bean soup Rocked!!!

Helpful?
Thank Cm017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGuire's Irish Pub also viewed

 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to McGuire's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing