We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Destin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great views - steps from gulf - 3 pools, two hot tubs. Spacious accommodations.
Can't wait to return. Quiet and comfy!
My unit had nicely appointed kitchen, washer/dryer. Two bedrooms/Two baths.
Flat screens - DVD and VCR. Each unit is different - so ask

Room Tip: I prefer higher up to view the surroundings.
Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank JEAN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 145 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

There is no need to fly to Mexico when you can go to Destin It is a day drive for us, and we return over and over. The Majestic Sun is the TOPS . The great location, excellent floor plan, and wonderful staff make it a real winner. I will always remember the memories we have made at the Majestic Sun.

Room Tip: If you can, get a deluxe unit. It has a nice gulf view and is very spacious. Either a one or two be...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks in February. Check in was fast and easy. Units are complete with everything you need to cook a complete meal. Units are spacious and bright. They have balcony that looks out toward the gulf. Beautiful view of the gulf. Beds are very comfortable and the units have jazzuzi bath. Staff is very accommodating and helpful. Definitely will book this again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Duckhunter73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Very nice beach resort. Especially quiet during our stay in the first week of January. A short walk to the beautiful white sand beach of the Gulf. A little too cool for water sports but the beach was still inviting.
Accommodations were clean and spacious.
No problem parking in garage and taking elevator to suite. All types of restaurants are within a short drive.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drheartless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Positives:
The room was wonderful, clean and spacious. It was lovelly for our family time at thanksgiving.
The resort staff were very helpful and friendy.
Indoor pool was excellent and we used it a lot.
The beach was clean and beautiful.

Negative:
I was disappointed with having to walk over the road to the beach especially with 4 year old triplets and with all the beach gear. The beach was busy also.
The view was disappointing as I was hoping to see the beach and sea but we were at the side of the building and did not have the spectacular views.

Overall, the room being so lovely and luxurious may have been an asset for the relaxation of the trip so I quickly got over our hike. We had a great time and I would consider going back as the sunsets at the beach were awesome and the best I have ever seen as well as the Whale's Tail was a great place to eat and watch the sunsets.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank triotrois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at this property from 10/20/12 through 10/27/12. The property was easy to find after leaving the Ft. Walton airport in our rental car. The airport is small so it was easy in and out. The address for the property was found on our AT&T phone mapping program and we were there with ease. Upon arriving it is not obvious where you need to go to check in. We figured it out easy enough but from our room we noticed all week people stopping and pausing trying to figure out where to go. We filled out the check in paperwork ahead of time during some downtime at the airport waiting for our connection. Check in was easy and efficient and similar to all other Wyndham property processes. There is a parking garage for use by guests with baggage trolleys at every elevator directly to the rooms. There were plenty of trolleys available.

Garage, elevators, and hallways were all very clean. Signage to the rooms was easy and everything worked. We used points and reserved a one bedroon deluxe suite. This room has a long entry hallway, a kitchen, living and dining area, a master bedroom, and a balcony. The bathroom has a jacuzzi tub with shutters that open to the bedroom. Our room was an accessible room, we didn't request it, nor did we need it so I'm not sure how the layout differs. We had a large walk in shower and a sink in both the bathroom proper and the vanity area where the jacuzzi tub was. Lots of room, plenty of towels for inside use and four beach towels. There was a suitable amount of soap and such for us to use as well. The room was clean.

There has been much discussion about the beds. They are a bit firm but the week was comfortable and restful. The only issue we had with the bed was that the sheets didn't fit so we needed to keep adjusting. I think the sheets were regular king sheets and maybe the mattress was a deep mattress? Very minor issue.

There was also plenty of storage in the room so hanging space was plentiful, although it took us a couple days to find the iron :-) There was an in room safe as well. HVAC worked great and seemed to maintain temperature although a bit cooler than the temp indicated. Very comfortable. The floors are all ceramic tile and that keeps the sand manageable that is invariably brought in BUT it also makes for noisy neighbors. Every movement above us came through the floor. Just something to be aware of with hard floors throughout. We noted it but did not find it a nuisance.

The entire room and the kitchen had obviousy been recently updated. Paint was fresh, surfaces current and appliances perhaps not as new as the upgrade but in good conditon. Coffee maker was brand new.

The building sits perpendicular to the gulf. Balconies are angled out of the building and face the gulf. We had a good view but the building faces a road (how we noted people trying to figure the check in) but the gulf captures your attention. If I have attached a picture it is the view from the balcony. Higher numbered rooms are closer to the gulf and further from the trash room. Elevators are in the middle... you make the call.

There is no restaurant in the building. There is one in the condo complex across the street "The Crab Shack", and there is a beach restaurant in short walking distance "The Whale Tale" and further down the beach is the famous "Pompano Joe's". A car rental is definitely a good idea and there are many scooter, bike, and jelly car rentals (these are three wheeled motorized and peppy cute things that look like jelly beans). There are plentiful opportunities for any kind of food you could want within a short drive or a good walk.

There is no pool at this specific property and there are five pools at adjacent properties that can be accessed. One that is closest is an indoor/outdoor pool and has two hot tubs. People have written about this pool being through a garage or outside and into another building. All true but the pool is very close and a short walk. We had beautiful weather all week and went to the pool once just to try it out. It was clean but there was maintenance going on so the peace was lost on the ambience of a pressure washer. The other pools were a walk and looked nice, but few people were in the pools since the gulf was so beautiful. We spent all of our water and sun time on the beach.

There are no complimentary beach chairs and umbrellas. They are available on the beach for $40.00 a day. Ask at the activities center for chairs and umbrellas to check out. If they have any serviceable ones that were left behind you can get them free. We left behind two chairs and an umbrella. There are plenty of beachside shops to get beach gear at a good price and close by.

Staff were all very nice and very helpful. Mids came mid-week we only asked for more towels and they were provided readily.Checkout is at 10am and the maid brigade was pounding on the door at 10am sharp. We found that a bit disturbing. We were ready to go, bags in hand, but that had us feeling like we were being hustled off of a table at a busy restaurant. Very uncharacteristic of the week and the entire experience and the reason it doesn't get a 5.

We will go back for sure and will also explore the Wyndham property down the coast in Destin.

Room Tip: One bedroom deluxe is the way to go. Much bigger. Higher numbered rooms are closer to the gulf.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank GILORI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at a lot of Wyndham resorts and this was one of the best. We had a two bedroom room that was extremely clean and everything looked very new. From our balcony you could see the ocean and it was less than 100 yard walk to put your feet in the water. I wasn't 100% thrilled with the pools but with the beach that close and the ocean their is perfect for our kids we hardly went to the pool. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VolDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
3.9 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
4.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
2.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun

Address: 77 Seascape Dr, Destin, FL 32550-3974 (Formerly Fairfield Destin at Majestic Sun)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Destin
#9 Family Hotel in Destin
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range: $146 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts At Majestic Sun Hotel Destin
Wyndham Destin
Wyndham Vacation Hotel
Destin Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing