We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see beach. Natural beauty and lots of space to relax.”

Henderson Beach State Park
Ranked #1 of 69 things to do in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Quitman, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must see beach. Natural beauty and lots of space to relax.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I always enjoy state park and national park beaches because there is no ugly commercial stuff and because they tend to be less crowded. Also, the people who go tend to value nature and peace and quiet.

Henderson Beach State park is a real treasure, right in the middle of the Destin beaches and attractions. Clean, large spacious beaches. Water had lots of fish in it too. Beaches have showers, picnic areas and restrooms. Restrooms were spotless!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,291
    324
    62
    19
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Don't have a wedding here!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I got married here on July 11th because we thought it would be nicer than having it at the condo we were staying in - less people (strangers) in the photos, etc. However, what we didn't think about was the fact that this is a PUBLIC BEACH! Our first problem was people stole our conch shells for our aisle AND they took our chairs and refused to get out of them! We had to have someone from the wedding company come back out and replace the shells and rake the sand again. This set our wedding back and took time from our paid photographers and photo shoot! Then our guests made a huge mistake using their public bathrooms where they found human feces all over the floor. Needless to say this beach might be beautiful, but the people that hang out here are trash and disrespectful and not ones you want to have around during a wedding!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank katieandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Beautiful sugar-white sand, sparkling clear emerald-green water. This is the PRIMO spot to spend the day at the beach. With showers and bathrooms a few steps away, just bring your chair, towel, and cooler and enjoy the beauty of God's creation!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dogfather96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Gorgeous beaches”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The sands are so white and the park is immaculate. Be sure to take some time to enjoy these treasures.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank imagineakumal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We only made it out to the beach but it was nice and clean and obviously well maintained. It was a little choppy but so shallow it was great for the kids.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie57894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henderson Beach State Park also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Henderson Beach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing