We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Destin
State Center, Iowa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Huge Rooms”
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed at the Wingate for 3 nights. Got a great rate through Priceline. The rooms were twice the size that we expected. I don't know if they are all that large--maybe they gave us a suite. The room and the entire facility was very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast, also. Our room was on the third floor because they were remodeling the first and second floors. January is low season so there weren't many people there. Nice location--about 1/2 block off highway 98 and right across the road from the beach which was beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaleJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    378
    173
    63
    48
See reviews for
458
421
47
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed our 3-day stay here and will be staying here every time we return to Destin! The staff at the check-in counter was always friendly and the cleaning staff was wonderful! We received extra pillows and extra towels minutes within our request for them. We loved the fresh, warm out of the oven Otis Spunkmeyer cookies greeting us every day at 3:00 p.m. at the check-in counter. The complimentary breakfast buffet was great and always refilled and constantly checked on by the staff. We did not find the beds hard at all like some other reviewers had stated. The only thing I would change is I wish the outdoor was heated as it was too cold to swim in in the evenings, but the hot tub was wonderful! I would also recommend that ladies bring their own hair dryers from home if they have long hair like me because the tiny hair dryer in the room took forever to dry my long hair. Trip Advisor has never steered us wrong and we're so glad we followed their excellent recommendation! After we returned home from our trip, it was also a nice touch to receive a postcard from the hotel in the mail for a 15% discount off of our next stay with them. We will definitely be using it next visit! Keep up the great job, Wingate! See you soon!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilandmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

The hotel is in a secluded location off the main hwy 98. Very nice hotel, pool, hot tub. They keep the facilities clean and have a very nice breakfast. The listing for the tv channels was outdated .. had to call to find out what channel HBO was on. When the wind blew from the north the water (sewage) treatment smell behing the hotel would come in through the air conditioner. It was a horrible smell.. nothing they can do about it.
The hotel's sign our front needs to be made into an illumindated sign.. folks don't even know the hotel is there. You can go behind Wynn/Dixie to get to the back airline road to avoid getting out on HWY 98 and the traffic. Beds were comfortable enough, large room.. hotel has been there 5 years.. they need a better sign at 98 indicating the hotel is there. Still has the sand dunes and trees,etc. around the facility so makes it kind of quiet and secluded. You can walk to the grocery store, there is a new Chinese buffett that you can walk to (Fuji sushi and buffet)... Target is in walking distance across the parking lot.
Big Kahuna is within walking distance.. like next door to the hotel. Rooms have microwave and coffee makers, fridge.. nice to have if you plan on eating in room some. Nice big desk for computer hookups.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memixerWestTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinton, TN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Rooms were average size. Amenities were very nice and 24 hour coffee was a nice touch. However, they could have used a bigger pool. I was disappointed in the pool area and in the exercise room there was only one treadmill (out of service). The closest public beach was a 15 minute drive. Breakfast was decent at best. They need to do a better job of sound-proofing rooms. The people in floor above sounded like they were moving furniture all day and night. Luckily I got the room for 45.00 per night on price-line. Anymore and I would have been sick.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank un4given
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

This is a very nice hotel! My only complaint is that it is NOT accessible to the beach. My husband & I had hoped to just cross the highway & be able to access the beach, but we found ourselves in a community of condos and beach homes with only gated beach access. However, public beach access is a short 5-10 minute drive away.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1inamillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantonment, Florida
Level Contributor
196 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

This is a great Hotel to stay and enjoy the beautiful Destin beaches. I have stayed here more than 300 nights on business and everyone is very friendly from the manager Karen to the front desk staff Andy and Jessica . The rooms are always very, very clean thanks to Taffy and staff. Would highly recommend staying at the Windgate in Destin.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell34550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed here because we stayed at other Wingates in other states. The hotel is out away from highway, which was ok. Except it was a little far to go to the beach. The staff were not very friendly; quite indifferent when we checked in. You think they would be happy to see customers considering the oil was threatening the coast any day. The facilities were clean, pool was adequate. The so called "Expanded breakfast" consisted of waffle irons, and all the other continental breakfast items. The mattresses are horrible, absolutely positively terrible. If you want to sleep comfortably, I wouldn't stay here. The springs on our bed were poking out in my side when I laid on my side, and they were so low to the ground and bouncy, I felt like I was a WCW wrestler. I was embarrassed to bring my wife, because I bragged about the beds in Wingate. Nothing but a cheap bed spread on the bed, with 3 cheap flat pillows for our King-size bed. Horrible five nights of trying to sleep. I made a comment on the Wingate corporate site, I doubt I will get any response or rectification.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarkie641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
9.2 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
0.9 mi away
SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
7.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#20 of 39 in Destin
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Destin

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Address: 117 Palm St, Destin, FL 32541-2599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#12 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Destin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Destin Fl Hotel Destin
Wingate Hotel Destin
Wingate Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing