We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It use to be a very nice hotel. It's not any more. Room...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Destin
Reviewed March 14, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,117 - 1,123 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had stayed at Wingate in Destin frequently, but I must say the quality of service and quality of rooms has gone downhill in 2012-2013. I stayed at the Wingate last night (3-11-13), using my Wyndam Rewards this time, and room 205 was filthy. The carpet sorely needs cleaning. The ceiling was water stained and had falling plaster over the bed nearest the window. The desk had been taken out (the fridge moved there) and there was no phone in the entire room. When I checked in, I asked Joe (manager) for a different room, preferably 3rd floor, in anticipation of a noisy night due to Spring breakers. I was told the hotel was sold out. When I found the room in such bad condition, I called the desk, again asking for another room, and was told nothing could be done. I called Wyndam Rewards and was told if I left the points could not be returned. This morning, I did not ask -- I told-- Customer Service at Wyndam Rewards that I would need those points returned immediately, or a room without charge for a second night, or a money refund (which I did not think would be possible, since payment was points). When I spoke to Joe this morning at Check-out he blamed me for not calling the desk last night (I had called, of course) and when I told him that i called the desk before reporting to Wyndam Rewards he basically called me a liar. I don't think it's the customer's job, in any case, to tell them a room with no desk (Wingates cater to business travelers and always have desks), no room phone at all, and falling plaster, dirty carpet is unacceptable. Management should know enough about their hotel to know to know when a room is not ready to rent! Joe said he would have Wyndam refund the points, but that is yet to be seen. Actually, I should get more than just the points back after that room. This is the second occasion, in two visits, that there has been a bad experience at this particular Wingate. Some of their rooms are good, others are not, and management is very reluctant to make good when something is wrong. The attitude of some of the staff, noticeably Cristie (the pregnant woman) at the desk is also very poor. And Joe acts like he's doing a big favor by renting a room, and you should take what you get. Destin is an upscale community, and Wingates have a reputation of being good over-all hotels catering to business travelers. This particular Wingate, lately, is giving the chain a huge blemish. Other things, the hotel was busy with Spring Break and ran out of food at breakfast, and I just had coffee, one juice, one yogurt because the breakfast bar was empty. There was a long line, of people waiting for dried out eggs and overcooked sausage, and there was none. The waffle mix ran out before 8:30.

Room Tip: If you stay here, ask for a room on the third floor because their insulation is terrible and you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s0l043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Destin, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments. As you know from your many visits to the Wingate by Wyndham in Destin, FL your experience this visit was very uncharacteristic of the quality and level of services provided by our hotel and staff. Your comments have been passed on to the appropriate departments. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
1  Thank Eleanor B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joseph K, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Destin, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joseph K, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Destin, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Y W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joseph K, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Destin, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
1  Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joseph K, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Destin, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joseph K, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Destin, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Destin
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Destin
0.9 mi away
SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel
9.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
6.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Destin

Address: 117 Palm Street, Destin, FL 32541-2599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#10 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range: $80 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Destin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the scenic shores of the Gulf of Mexico, our Destin hotel near Henderson Beach State Park is perfect for a beach getaway in Florida’s beautiful Emerald Coast region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Destin Fl Hotel Destin
Wingate Hotel Destin
Wingate Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing