We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,372)
Filter reviews
1,372 results
Traveler rating
566
438
213
79
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
566
438
213
79
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskroom was cleanstay at this hotel againhot breakfastthe main dragvery nice hotelpublic beach accessfree breakfastminute drivepool and hot tubyogurtspring breakpillowsinternettargethousekeepingbeaches
Filter
Updating list...
1,307 - 1,312 of 1,372 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Family with two children stayed there for two days during spring break. The hotel was not on the water, but, the public beach access is about 1/2 mile away. There were several restaurants near-by. There was also a putt-putt golf and go-cart for the kids. The hotel was off the main street; thus, it was very quiet. The parking lot had plenty of spaces and was well-lit. There was a pool and a spa but we did not use them. The wireless internet worked well. The room was very clean and roomy. There was plenty of space for the suit-cases and cooler. The safe was great; however, it had a key instead of a digital lock. You had to lug the key around (to the beach) which was not very convenient. The lady at the front desk was very courteous and speedy. It took her less than 10 minutes to check us in. She also took the time and showed us, on the map, the public beach access. The breakfast was mediocre. There were not enough fruits.
Overall, we thought the hotel was a good place to stay. The price was a little high, probably because of spring break.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TranHungDao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Booked a 3 night stay at this location and loved it. The rooms where clean,the
service and staff was class "A" all the time. You know how some hotels have that
simple morning breakfast that looks like it was left since yesterday, well not at
this location. A great breakfast and a very peaceful location. Yes im staying again
and cost will not stop me, because i have paid more in the past and cost in the
hotel industry does not mean quality treatment for the guest and you can take
that to the bank. Go wingate, see ya soon !!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KENOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed at the Wingate for 3 nights. Got a great rate through Priceline. The rooms were twice the size that we expected. I don't know if they are all that large--maybe they gave us a suite. The room and the entire facility was very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast, also. Our room was on the third floor because they were remodeling the first and second floors. January is low season so there weren't many people there. Nice location--about 1/2 block off highway 98 and right across the road from the beach which was beautiful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaleJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed our 3-day stay here and will be staying here every time we return to Destin! The staff at the check-in counter was always friendly and the cleaning staff was wonderful! We received extra pillows and extra towels minutes within our request for them. We loved the fresh, warm out of the oven Otis Spunkmeyer cookies greeting us every day at 3:00 p.m. at the check-in counter. The complimentary breakfast buffet was great and always refilled and constantly checked on by the staff. We did not find the beds hard at all like some other reviewers had stated. The only thing I would change is I wish the outdoor was heated as it was too cold to swim in in the evenings, but the hot tub was wonderful! I would also recommend that ladies bring their own hair dryers from home if they have long hair like me because the tiny hair dryer in the room took forever to dry my long hair. Trip Advisor has never steered us wrong and we're so glad we followed their excellent recommendation! After we returned home from our trip, it was also a nice touch to receive a postcard from the hotel in the mail for a 15% discount off of our next stay with them. We will definitely be using it next visit! Keep up the great job, Wingate! See you soon!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilandmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

The hotel is in a secluded location off the main hwy 98. Very nice hotel, pool, hot tub. They keep the facilities clean and have a very nice breakfast. The listing for the tv channels was outdated .. had to call to find out what channel HBO was on. When the wind blew from the north the water (sewage) treatment smell behing the hotel would come in through the air conditioner. It was a horrible smell.. nothing they can do about it.
The hotel's sign our front needs to be made into an illumindated sign.. folks don't even know the hotel is there. You can go behind Wynn/Dixie to get to the back airline road to avoid getting out on HWY 98 and the traffic. Beds were comfortable enough, large room.. hotel has been there 5 years.. they need a better sign at 98 indicating the hotel is there. Still has the sand dunes and trees,etc. around the facility so makes it kind of quiet and secluded. You can walk to the grocery store, there is a new Chinese buffett that you can walk to (Fuji sushi and buffet)... Target is in walking distance across the parking lot.
Big Kahuna is within walking distance.. like next door to the hotel. Rooms have microwave and coffee makers, fridge.. nice to have if you plan on eating in room some. Nice big desk for computer hookups.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank memixerWestTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews