We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service!”
Review of Shrimp Basket

Shrimp Basket
Ranked #37 of 304 Restaurants in Destin
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Our menu encompasses a great variety of original seafood and local favorites. Ranging from shrimp, fish, crab claws, and crawfish, we also provide po-boys, chicken, and sandwiches for land lovers. Don't forget about our specialty Roasted Red Pepper Bama Sauce over Fettuccine pasta! The goal at the Shrimp Basket is to provide enjoyable, affordable service to each and every one of our guests at whichever restaurant they choose to dine in. This is accomplished by our professional and well-trained staff working together to ensure that your memories are the best that they can be at the Shrimp Basket. It is no surprise that our popularity has magnified among locals and tourists alike as we continue to expand along the Gulf Coast. We are grillin', steamin', and fryin' for you!
Madison, Mississippi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We ate here twice during our visit to Destin. The first night, my husband wanted to get something to- go since we had such a long day in the sun.. We were able to place the order & were gone with food after 20 minutes.. Once we returned to our hotel, my husband realized there was a problem with his order. Instead of the seafood gumbo, he ordered he got baked beans. He called back & spoke to the district manager who stated, if my family returned he would pay for our entire meal. We returned the next day & got a full meal free of charge. The seafood was hot & fresh. The service is friendly & the district manager was nice enough to compensate a full meal for a family of 3 for a small mistake.. We will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsChanda08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    214
    80
    27
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh catch food”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hole in the wall place but the food was great and very reasonably priced. The portions were really big. Great taste and value.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Syl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We ate at The Shrimp Basket our first night in Destin and loved it. We were tired from driving all day and did not feel like getting dressed for a nicer restaurant. Atmosphere is very casual. Flip flops and shorts are the norm. Servers were very friendly and helpful. We ordered the hush puppies appetizer and they were some of the best we have ever had. 3 in our group had fried shrimp and 1 had a fish taco dish. All were excellent and the prices are very reasonable. We ate at several other nicer restaurants during our stay in Destin but ended up coming back to the Shrimp Basket on our last night in town because the entire family loved it! The only slight negative was that the temperature inside the restaurant was very cold so we opted to eat out on the patio which was very pleasant!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texasmom1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
Level Contributor
114 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Over-rated!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Cheap Fish house feel. Limited menu for non-seafood eaters. Chicken dish really bad. Fried shrimp fair at best. No need to wear nice clothes - very casual.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank familytripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you want good, cheap fried seafood this is the place.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Went there with the family and got the coconut shrimp and red potatoes. They were very good. My wife got the shrimp skewers and they were also good. The rice however was very bland. If you go here I would suggest getting a fried seafood basket or the Po boy. This place is also probably one of the cheapest places to get seafood. So, if you were on a budget or want cheap fried seafood this is your place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrimp Basket also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Shrimp Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing