We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best catfish ever!!!”
Review of Gilligan's Seafood

Gilligan's Seafood
Ranked #77 of 304 Restaurants in Destin
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best catfish ever!!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Get the AYCE shrimp & catfish!! It is only $12.99 & it includes both the shrimp & catfish.The catfish is AMAZING!!! The shrimp is very good too but they don't devein them, which is why I didn't give them a 5. There really isn't much more to say other than GET THE CATFISH!!! :) Service was great & it was a perfect evening for the outdoor seating.

Helpful?
Thank mre7867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    129
    72
    33
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Decent food - slow staff”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The other wait staff seemed to be a good bit more attentive to their tables. Ours was slow getting to us. Slower getting the food. And non-present when we needed refills on our drinks. The food was okay - but nothing spectacular. I have been to Gilligan's before and had a better experience. So we may have just been there on an off night. The kids did enjoy watching all the boats coming and going in the marina. And the jet ski dock just below kept their attention while we waited on the food. It was the end of the day on the water so the jet ski's were being put up and the guy was hot doggin' a little in the water around the dock. So that was fun for the boys to watch.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank notneedingname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
None
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Laid back and peaceful ”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Husband and I went here while I vacation and it was amazing! Food and service was perfect and much better than the more pricy places. We loved eating on the deck overlooking the water and we would go back again!

Helpful?
Thank GypsyQueen14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't let the ugly building fool you....”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We were looking for good seafood at a reasonable price when a friend told us about Gilligans. My husband is not a seafood lover, but it am so we tried Gilligans. The building was nothing to brag about, but the food was delicious! We ordered the all-you-can-eat catfish and shrimp and my non seafood loving husband ordered a second plate of catfish even though the first plate was huge! Of course I loved it too.
For an expensive area like Destin, this meal was very reasonably priced. The staff was friendly and attentive. We will go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SKCline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford
1 review
“Staff needs to be aware of closing hours”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Granted most people tend only post negative reviews but was very frustrated. We had 10 people and we called 20 minutes ahead to make sure they had the space since we had 2 small children. We get there and guy at bar says sorry we were closed. I said man we just called and lady said we have space for 10 if you come now. He goes oh we close at 9 (website and lady said 10) and we just had a part of 45. I said man we called 20 minutes ago. He said sorry. Pretty aggravating. Should have found the person answering phone and made her aware of the error. Plus could of recommended somewhere else.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tbell2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilligan's Seafood also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Gilligan's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing