We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Deli Sandwiches”

Callahan's Restaurant & Deli
Ranked #27 of 303 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bloomington, IL
Level Contributor
242 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Excellent Deli Sandwiches”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My mother-in law wanted a pastrami sandwich and based on Tripadvisor reviews we came here. The sandwiches where huge and of higher quality.....pastrami, corned beef, etc. than I have ever had anywhere.! I also had a cup of the soup of the day which was potato, sausage, and kale. Excellent! Pay the extra for the fries...they were excellent. Otherwise you get a bag of Lay's potato chips. They had a beautiful meat case with steaks that looked amazing. Next to that was a display of the most beautiful cakes, pies, and cheesecakes. Our lunch specials ranged from $6.99 to $8.99. They also have home cooked spaghetti, lasagne,fried chicken and mashed potatoes and liver and onions. Something for everyone.... We will be back next time!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connor11_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    134
    50
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
104 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stop the car NOW!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

This may be the best place in Destin! Now hold on, you may find some that are more elegant, have a better view, cost more, have a shorter wait, cater more to tourist BUT this place has the BEST meal in town. It is not strictly a seafood joint but they do have a shrimp salad that OMG is it good! Sandwiches, meatloaf, chicken fried steak, chicken fried chicken, dumplings, THE BEST honey mustard dressing made right there! Sunday am is a great time to try their brunch,the omelets are really big and oh how they are good. If you can't tell I just finished lunch and just got up from my nap. What a place! The prices, wow you will not think you are in Destin!

Helpful?
2 Thank Txexterminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Quality seems to be lacking”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Went to Callahan's last night for "early bird special". First off were seated away from other diners in front area of restaurant. Ordered pork chops which the first one tried to eat but was all full of grizzle second one was better. Last time the pork chops were grilled but this order was deep-fat fried --- didn't enjoy at all. Wish we could have had better seating but waitress was very attentive.
Homemade salad dressing delicious. Too much food to try dessert but they looked delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rrzook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go there about 2 times a month.”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Had lunch there last week and it was horrible. I've had a number of dinners that were really good. The early dinner specials are solid. We go back but I was really angry about the roast beef sandwich for lunch that I did not go to dinner there last night. It may be a while before I go back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Where the locals go"”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is what I call an excellent family restaurant. We were advised by a local couple to eat here. We were very pleasantly surprised. It is a large restaurant, just off the main drag through Destin. The service was extremely good and friendly, the portions huge (you can definitely share), and above all the food was delicious. We live 30 minutes away and will definitely drive back, as return customers! p.s. The chicken-fried steak is addictive!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbj56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Callahan's Restaurant & Deli also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Callahan's Restaurant & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing