We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break from seafood and long waits.”

Callahan's Restaurant & Deli
Ranked #29 of 305 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
148 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great break from seafood and long waits.”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We tried this restaurant midway through a week long vacation. I needed a change from all the overly busy seafood places. The large portions at this southern cooking establishment did the job right. We only had a 10 minute wait and everyone left satisfied and very full.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    135
    50
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value and leave happy and stuffed”
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed the food, atmosphere, and service. We will definitely come back. It was not busy at all. The kids menu had a lot to offer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KokiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent meat for purchase”
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

The condo we stay at in Destin has some grills, and one night I ran into some guys from the Louisiana bayou cookin up some incredible looking steaks. They told me they got them at Callahan's, and I had to try some myself. They sold at least NY strip, ribeyes, and bacon-wrapped filet, and I think they may have sold hamburgers as well, but don't quote me on that. On our last night, the bacon wrapped filets did not disappoint...some of the best meat I've ever had the pleasure of grilling!

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Great food, large portions and good prices. Ate here twice on our last vacation. Ate stuffed pepper soup and it was great. Everything we have eaten here over the last few years has been good food. It is a nice change of pace from just seafood and steak..

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ROADTRIPO9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good variety, CFS pretty good.”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We went shortly after arriving in Destin, and it was a good selection as it had a good variety. Not everyone was happy with their food, but my chicken fried steak was pretty good. Not as good as I can get here in Austin, but pretty good. Service was good, and no one left hungry.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dnftf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Callahan's Restaurant & Deli also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Callahan's Restaurant & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing