We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than last year”
Review of The Back Porch

The Back Porch
Ranked #21 of 308 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Back Porch Seafood & Oyster House has been a local favorite in Destin since 1974 serving the finest smoked tuna dip, ice-cold oysters and our famous char-grilled Amberjack. Happy Hour 3-5PM daily.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than last year”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We always make a stop at The Back Porch when we visit Destin. Last year was a disappointment but we tried it again this year. The atmosphere is great but this year I was very pleasantly surprised with the food quality. I had fried shrimp ;and my wife had the chicken and the food was very good...so good we went back a second night during our stay in Destin. Located right on the beach it is a relaxing place for a good meal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BBQChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,557
    1,065
    436
    147
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlinville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food Handled our Group of 17 no wait and with a smile.”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Our family of 17 is getting used to waiting over an hour at many places for a seat here on vacation. However this facility has several pre-set tables for groups near 20. The place appeared to be packed but the host cheerfully directed us up stairs. So much for the seating, the food was phenomenal, I had the fisherman's platter which has amber jack, grouper and grilled tuna. Very tasty and prepared perfectly. The ambiance with the facility sitting literally on the beach would be very difficult to duplicate. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kidscoach4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 PM”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Didn't have to wait long and there was 6 of us. We were first seated in sun and asked to move everyone was very nice and accommodating. The waitress was very nice. The food was good and service was very fast. The view was awesome.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank stlcardinalfan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golconda
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If you like fish”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

If you like fish dishes this is the place to go. I had the Grouper Destin which is grilled grouper with shrimp and a lemon sauce on top. It was very tasty. A twist I had not had before was they give you honey butter to dip your hush puppies in. Surprisingly good. I also recommend Grayton Pale Ale a local brew.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rambler022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“View Better Than Food”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We went to The Back Porch our first night in Destin. The location and view was incredible. If it wasn't for the view, we would have thought the food was overpriced for the quality. The best part of the meal was our Gulf Shrimp appetizer, large gulf shrimp with a great cocktail sauce. As for the entrees, I had the crab stuffed mahi mahi, the flavor was good, but the fish seemed overcooked. My wife had the crab cakes. They were average at best. Overall, the location for our first meal in Destin was incredible, but the food was underwhelming.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SqueaksandBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Back Porch also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Back Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing