We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for lunch”
Review of The Back Porch

The Back Porch
Ranked #21 of 304 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Back Porch Seafood & Oyster House has been a local favorite in Destin since 1974 serving the finest smoked tuna dip, ice-cold oysters and our famous char-grilled Amberjack. Happy Hour 3-5PM daily.
Ashland, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place for lunch”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stay at Sterling Shores across the street and use this place almost daily for lunch and drinks. You can walk right in wearing your bathing suit. Location is beautiful and the Amberjack sandwich is excellent!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MikeFelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,470
    1,024
    415
    142
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beach Bums Delight”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We loved the Crab Claws Appetizer... the best we've ever had! We enjoyed a table surfside, with the open air view as close to the beach as you can get. The food is above average, all served freshly made, piping hot; fried local Gulf shrimp is the house specialty. Service is very good with friendly, experienced staff. This local favorite eatery is a bit raucous in noise and atmosphere, a bit gritty and worn at the end of the day, always packed and with a wait for dinner, but really hopping with a good time for all. It is very family and kid friendly. They have a tiny bar, but it is tucked away from the table seating.
HINTS: Go as early as you can or expect a long wait; do have a cool bar drink on the patio as you wait. Ask for a beach-view table, and downstairs is better, too. Do ask your server for recommendations; they really know fresh, local seafood as well as favorites from the grill. And, lastly, stop into the gift shop (on your right as you exit onto the patio area) and get a T-shirt or necklace for souvenirs. And take home a whole key lime pie... The Back Porch is famous for it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank WalkerTribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beach Front Open Air Dining”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Had heard about this restaurant before arriving and had to check it out. It was well worth the stop! We were here with friends for lunch and sat out on the open "back porch", but could have sat at any of very many tables with an open window to the gulf. The restaurant is much wider than deep (away from the beach) so all tables have a nice gulf view. We had the Mahi Mahi sandwich platter which came with fries, cole slaw, tomato and lettuce. We opted for the cajun version, and it was SO good! But beware, it is very spicy.... To our liking. Our friends opted for their grilled version of the same platter, and substituted the onion rings for the fries. Same story, they raved about it. All the while we could enjoy the beach and gulf view and breezes.

You can exit the restaurant to the beach where the kids have a big beached boat with slide to play on and you can sit there of you have to wait for a table.

We highly recommend this restaurant for very good food with a view!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JTPMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston uk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Huge portions of good food”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We walked from Summer Place Inn on US98, about 5 mins, we did not have a reservation but there were only about 6 tables occupied. Service was very good but we were overwhelmed by the huge portions of very good food

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank r.butterworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time. Food is normally great.”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Did the Back Porch change chefs? Or did they get new owners? What is normally a great seafood dinner was a complete disaster. Our waitress forgot our drink order. Then forgot one of our diner's meal. Then she forgot the meal again. Then vanished and we had to hunt down our bill! The food was completely different. It used to taste homemade, now it tastes like chain restaurant frozen fare. The shrimp weren't even de-veined! We wont be back for a while and we usually hit up the Back Porch several times a year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Back Porch also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Back Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing