We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food and service”
Review of Marina Cafe

Marina Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Marina Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 304 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $50
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Experience Adult Contemporary Dining with breathtaking views of the Destin Harbor through a thirty foot window wall in the bar and waterfront dining room. Our extensive international wine collection compliments an eclectic menu of classic Creole, Mediterranean, Pan Asian and American cuisine in addition to gourmet brick oven pizza and sushi selections. Fresh local seafood and USDA prime steaks. Waterfront cocktail deck with sensational sunsets.
Grand Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Awesome food and service”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Fancy place. Go between 5-6 to get the special on the entree. Nice view of the water and no complaints. The calamari was delicious and the redfish was very yummy!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 72amys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    641
    181
    63
    36
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“We went back - Very glad we did!”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had not dined at Marina Cafe for maybe 6 years. That last experience had not been great, hence the 6 year lapse. However, on this visit, everything was exceptional. Food preparation and presentation? 5 stars. Food quality? 5 stars. Service was absolutely exceptional as well.

As to specifics, we had shrimp and sausage spring rolls and fried calamari for starters. Not normally a big fan of either, but would absolutely order both again. Spring rolls were not your run-of-the-mill. Very good.

Entrees? I had the twin pork ribeyes and my wife had the scallop penne pasta that was a very creative blend of seasonings, prepared with tomatoes, parmesan and spinach. The pasta was so good, I almost wish I had ordered myself. After considering all the great options, I ended up ordering the pork ribeyes. Very unique flavor, utilizing a decadent chipotle, swiss super-delicious sauce.

In sum... Call ahead and ask for a window table overlooking the Destin Harbor. Wine is a little pricey, but they have a great selection. A very well run operation with very talented kitchen staff, great menu and well-versed, efficient service personnel. We will certainly not wait 6 more years to return. Probably more like 6 days.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marlinchaser3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Find for Thanksgiving Dinner”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had a Destination Thanksgiving at the beach in Destin, FL. After reading reviews online, I called the Marina Cafe and made reservations for 6 PM on Thanksgiving day. The place was very busy, and parking was tight. The meal and service were very good. It is the only day of the year that a buffet is served, I believe. Turkey, roast beef, good salads, and a plethora of vegetables. Three dessert options. Lovely white table atmosphere, and the view is great. Would go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hugsforall3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great happy hour”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Marina Café has a great happy hour every night--go on Sunday thru Thur and get 1/2 price on drinks and appitizers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank zteamtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abita Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Buffet Bummer”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

The buffet dinner was just plain BAD. It wasn't so much the selection but the food preparation. The prime rib was beyond rare it was so bloody it was tasteless and full of fat. The salmon was also slimy and smelled. The mash potatoes were like paste. The desserts consisted of a bread pudding that put the stale back in the bread. I have never come done this hard on a restaurant before, but for what was suppose to be a five star rating my expectations were high.
I could go on but by now you have got the picture, not worth the money or your time. Also the servers seemed none to happy about being there, perhaps they got to sample the buffet and knew just how horrid it was.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drishton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina Cafe also viewed

 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Marina Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing