We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average seafood and pricey”

Captain Dave's On The Gulf
Ranked #33 of 308 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Average seafood and pricey”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Went to Captain Dave's for dinner. We sat on an indoor patio facing the water that smelled rather musty. Because of the reviews, I didn't want to spend $20-$25 on an entree so got the calamari appetizer with the grilled fish sandwich. We went due to the fact that it was conveniently located across from our accommodations thus we didn't have to drive. The Calamari was good while the mahi mahi fish sandwich was a bit fishy which luckily the tartar sauce masked. My sister had the shrimp gumbo which was nothing special. Our waiter was less then enthusiastic when we asked for recommendations which further reinforced my decision to not over spend which is quite easy to do in this establishment. If you want an okay meal overlooking the water, this will do but I would recommend going elsewhere, convenient or not.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tmboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    157
    92
    41
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very ordinary but pricey”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

My wife & I both had chef's specials. Mahi mahi was ok teriyaki sauce poor & burnt. Red fish was fishy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Tasty seafood along the beach”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

There are many options for dining along the beach. Captain Dave's proved to be a good choice. The food seemed fresh. I particularly enjoyed the cajun redfish. It was spicy with a great mild flavour. Price wise it was comparible to others along the shoreline however less expensive than Crab trap. We would go back again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso Fl
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great seafood and views”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Family run. wait staff, bartender, hostess are super. Food from the HH nachos and fried green beans with wasabi to the Grouper Jane and Chicken parm is great portions are GENEROUS!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mfree8872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“One of our favorite locally owned restaurants w/ great food, service and atmosphere!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The bacon wrapped scallops and crawfish tails are our favorite appetizers. The salad was fresh and baked bread very good!
We had the stuffed shrimp and seafood platter. Both were plentiful and I had the twice baked potato. We appreciate the sides were included and not ala carte.

We highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harleyspagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Dave's On The Gulf also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Captain Dave's On The Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing