We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Local Gem”
Review of Noonie's Thai Cafe

Noonie's Thai Cafe
Ranked #228 of 303 Restaurants in Destin
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Takeout
Description: Are you hungry for some Pad Thai tonight? Do you think some Tom Yum Goong might spice up your date? If you’re longing for some fine Thai Food dining from the best Thai restaurant on the Emerald Coast!, Noonie'sThai Cafe may just be the restaurant for you! Offering authentic Thai cuisine and catering in an authentic casual Thai dining atmosphere.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Local Gem”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

It's not fancy and it's a bit tucked away in old Destin, but once you get in and order you'll be pleasantly surprised. Plenty of parking and easy in/out off of Hwy. 98. Lots of locals show up for lunch ($7 special) and the take-out is super convenient when you're in a rush to get home. I eat at a lot of Thai and Vietnamese restaurants and find all the dishes fresh and appetizing. The husband and wife team have their routine down pat... husband serves and wife cooks. Service was prompt, friendly and unobtrusive. Appetizers and entrees were served promptly (without being rushed), hot and delicious. I appreciate being able to specify heat "mild" "medium" "hot" on each dish... and the heat is true to order (when I order medium I get a true medium). I particularly like their fresh spring rolls, Thai beef salad, and Pad Thai.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric_Hanson850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock
1 review
“Vacation”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We found this place on accident but it was one of the best local places, great food all hand made and was awesome. Got great tips on other local places to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
1 review
“Delicious and fresh!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with our delicious meals here at Noonie's and were impressed with the friendly husband and wife team running the whole show. We had the red curry and the pad thai and both dishes were very tasty. They add their own twist so it's not your 100% traditional thai flavors but it was delicious and they'll make it exactly how you like it. Very casual, charming hole in the wall vibe and we look forward to going back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Go for the Mango Dessert, but skip the rest”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I've eaten at Noonie's twice (Feb. and July) and I really tried to like it and to overlook the problems, but I just can't. I've eaten in Thai restaurants for years in Orlando and Ft.Lauderdale, as well as in the home of Thai friends. The food at Noonie's has way less fresh vegetables, smaller portions, and the husband/co-owner of the establishment does not have a good "tableside manner". We will never eat there again. It is not nearly as good as ANY other Thai meal I've ever had. The flavorings (i.e. sauce, or soup base) were very one note, and it just seemed in general like the cook is leaving things out, or maybe these recipes are from a different part of Thailand, and not the part that has all the better cuisine which most Thai restaurants prepare. However, the Mango Sticky Rice dessert was a nice treat which I haven't had since visiting our favorite restaurant in Vero Beach, Fl.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DestinMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luke and Noonie are awesome!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I met the owners while I was at work and they told me about their thai restaurant. My fiance loves all kinds of asian cuisine so I said we would stop in one day. We went in for our first time in February, and have gone at least once a week since then. Most weeks we go twice! The food is delicious. It's cheap. I usually leave a tip for as much as my food, because Luke (owner/server) is so awesome and attentive. There are tons of regular customers that come back over and over because it is so awesome there!

They cater special events too! We are having them cater our wedding because we love this place so much!

They now have outside seating, open mic, and live music. They serve beer and liquor now too. We love this place so much. I tell as many people as I can about Noonie's. You will not be disappointed by this place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morgan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noonie's Thai Cafe also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Noonie's Thai Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing