We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished we would've gone on the kids cruise”

Buccaneer Pirate Cruise
Ranked #5 of 162 Tours in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Welcome mateys! If ye dare to step aboard, and cruise these waters in search of undiscovered treasure, our merry pirate crew awaits you, as you enter the atmosphere of adventure and fun for the whole family. Music and excitement fill the air as you and your hearties board our ship and the crew prepares for departure. We begin our search in Destin Harbor and proceed into Choctawhatchee Bay with our merry band of Buccaneers. Your crew will interactively entertain while training the Scallywags and Lil Bucs the basic skills of pirating. Merriment and excitement continues with sword fighting, water gun battles, dancing, story telling, and treasure hunting. Adult mateys join in with your children, or simply kick back, enjoy the island music, take in the scenery, and watch the little ones have the time of their lives. “Treasure off the port bow!” Someone exclaims and all attention draws to a float line marking treasure buried in the sea. All hands on deck join in to hoist the treasure aboard. Buccaneer is a 100’ Pirate Ship, build in 2012, equipped with 2 restrooms and plenty of room to walk about. Inside the galley, the pirates and wenches serve up hot dogs, smoothies, soft drinks, beer and wine, and other various snacks. Our priority is to create an exciting, family-fun adventure that is like no other. Aboard the ship, safety and passenger comfort are great concerns and you are in good hands with experienced captain and crew. Join us for a thrilling voyage that your whole family will remember as the highlight of your Destin Vacation. Unlock the treasure of your heart and let your dreams come true!
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went on the Adults Only cruise. It was suppose to be a murder mystery cruise. The program was boring! We sailed up and back the marina. We were not introduced to the captain.There was nothing worth taking pictures of. They raised the Jolly Roger as a last minute thought, during the "murder mystery". The actors went over lines in the cabin, during intermission, sometimes they still had their mics on and we could hear every word they said! The boat was decorated with Christmas lights, but they never turned them on. I'm pretty open minded about things, but I truly felt like we wasted our money. I think it would've been more entertaining to go on the kid's cruise. That was a lot of money and 2 hours I will never get back!

1  Thank TxLauraBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_W_Admin, Owner at Buccaneer Pirate Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear TxLauraBell,

We truly apologize for your bad experience onboard the Buccaneer Pirate Cruise. It is the last thing we want for our guests, but we appreciate your insight so that we can improve for the future. It was our first Murder Mystery cruise, so we admit, there were some bumps that needed to be smoothed out. Now that you have brought these items to our attention, we will address them for a much more enjoyable Murder Mystery in the future.

Please feel free to contact us by email at SStar@SouthernStarDolphinCruise.com or 850-837-7741 if you have any future questions or concerns.

Thank you again for being honest with us, and we will do our best to make sure these things do not happen in the future.

Truly,

Wendy Wilson
Owner & Vice-President
Maritime Charters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

697 - 701 of 753 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is actually the two hour cruise suggested for kids, but was happening @ 5:00pm, and that's what we wanted. You have to get tickets ahead of time and they do accept senior and AAA discounts. When boarding the decorated pirate boat, the captain is waiting for you to be photographed with him and your family. You guessed it - there is an independent photographer who will find you later in the cruise to see about purchase. We were two couples and the photographer accepted a deal from us, since we were buying two 5x7's.

Children were entertained the entire two hours. They had them all get in a circle on the main deck and the "maidens" took turns playing games, telling stories, even including the parents at times.

5:00pm is perfect to see the harbor at sunset. I got so many beautiful pictures, it's hard to scale down. We were privy to an extra treat, as the Navy pilots from the bases nearby, were conducting WWII aerobatics - mainly dog fighting and straifing, says my husband who contracts with the Navy. Basically, it's when one plane chases another and then diving runs with the planes. It was great to watch amidst the changing skyline and the views of the beach.

We were surprised to see how busy the harbor was. There were so many boats, both private and chartered, and of course, cruises, At first, our cruise boat didn't seem to go out very far and it seemed we were just going to go back and forth in a relatively small section of the harbor/ocean. My husband asked the captain and it had to do with the winds and too much choppiness, but as soon as it calmed down, he navigated the cruiseboat much further. There were restrooms on board, though none of us used them.

When it was time to disembark, we were asked to remember the entertainers; in other words, tips are expected for the two of them. We didn't mind, even if we didn't have kids with us. The Pirate Cruise was entertaining, fun, relaxing and a great way to spend a couple of hours!

3  Thank SBluv2rvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_W_Admin, Owner at Buccaneer Pirate Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

WOW! What a wonderful review! Thank you so much!! The WWII planes are a real treat to everyone watching! Glad you were able to see them! Please visit us again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I was hesitant in taknig this cruise as it just seemed too touristy. Bit at the urging of a friend we took our two kids (age 7 & 3) on the Buccaneer. The crew was great. They entertained the children with activities for the entire trip with dancing, face painting, and water pistol fights while my husband ams I sat back with adult beverages and snapped photos. It was age appropriate for all kids, and very safe. We even spotted some dolphins while out in the harbor. Pricey? Maybe a little, but our youngest was free and it was well worth the two hours the adults got to sit and relax.

3  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_W_Admin, Owner at Buccaneer Pirate Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

This is exactly what we like to hear! We really value our reviews, so thank you for taking time out of your day to let us know how it went! We developed an entertainment venue that allows the children to be entertained the entire time, so the adults can have a chance to relax, just as you described. Please let us know what we can do do make your experience even better!

Thank you again,

Wendy Wilson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great trip for an interactive pirate time. We have preschoolers and they has an awesome time. Thanks for two hours of fun!
We also saw dolphins and the best sunset I have ever seen!
Great memories.

1  Thank triotrois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was a bit put off by the price, but the reviews were fantastic. I was pleasantly surprised that it was well worth it in the end - definitely a highlight of our Thanksgiving week vacation.

The cruise was relaxing for parents and there was plenty of activity for the kids - sword fights, face painting, story telling, treasure hunting . . .

My 6 year old loved all the activities, but my 2 year old found things a bit loud at times. My advice - take little ones either to the very front or the third tier of the ship in the back (near the captain).

I recommend the late afternoon trip. We returned just as the sun was setting with spectacular color. Definitely get a seat at the front of the ship on the way back to port - we had several pods of dolphins leaping across the bow!

Thank AMRenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_W_Admin, Owner at Buccaneer Pirate Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you, AMRenda, for taking the time to provide your feedback for us! Great advice for the smaller kids who are sensitive to some of the louder sounds. We try to make it very exciting for everyone!

Thank you again!

Wendy Wilson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buccaneer Pirate Cruise also viewed

 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Buccaneer Pirate Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing