We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale shops, good restaurant selection, kids paradise”

Village of Baytowne Wharf
Ranked #7 of 69 things to do in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Upscale shops, good restaurant selection, kids paradise”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Loved the ambience; interesting upscale architecture at a nice mix of small shops. Lots of restaurants, some affordable, some very costly. Boutiques and clothing stores have a great assortment of interesting and costly goods, some name brand, some just marked up, i.e. $130.00 for a $70.00 shirt.

Kids paradise - carousel by the man-made pond, a zip line across it, nicely controlled childrens' rope course and "bungee" jump on a frame, cute little bridge walkway across the pond, remote controlled boats for kids to stand pondside and control the action. All very expensive - bring cash, and lots of it; if children do all the activities, candy store and ice cream, and dinner at one of the high end places- it's a nice afternoon for mom/dad/a few kids- around $500.00.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoThere88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    812
    472
    168
    38
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fun for all”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We did this trip in the evening. lots for food, shopping and games. Enjoyed the evening. Nice setting. Stores close a little early so beware. There was a concert that night. So we had a great time. Definitly worth the time to venture to this nice place. Would recommend this on your trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank freightmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clermont
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Fun for kids”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Nice man made downtown with shops, restaurants, and children's activities. All are quite pricey. They have weekly entertainment in the square and in some of the restaurants. Not sure I would go out of my way to go here unless you are staying here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank whimisical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Fun to walk around at night”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a beautiful little village that is really nice at night. There are a few shops, restaurants, zipline, playground, walking bridges, live music, shooting gallery, climbing wall and things like that. There is a really big beach chair that people climb into for a funny photo op.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A charming little village in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed in Destin during January and February, 2013, and sort of ignored visiting Baytowne Wharf as it was a bit longer from our Destin Gulfgate condo than we deemed necessary to see new sights!

Plus, at first we thought it was strictly a private area since we were told there was a guard gate several miles prior to reaching the village itself.

However, you merely tell the guard at the gate that you want to visit Baytowne Wharf and they will give you a free pass and directions. Follow the guard's direction and you will be there shortly thereafter.

If you are handicapped, there are only a few such parking spaces near the village entrance, but there is a large parking ramp nearby so you can likely park in there.

There are quite a few nice restaurants in the village, and a nice long pier you can walk out on - no charge - to view shore birds and maybe a dolphin or two cruising by.

Some of the restaurants may not open until evening during 'snowbird season' but even if you don't plan to dine in the village I think you will find it worth the drive on a nice day.

[see my review of the "Another Broken Egg" restaurant in the village; a great place to enjoy good food!]

If you are young and/or athletic there is a ZIP line in the heart of the village that crosses over a small body of man-made water, but it may not be open in the 'off season'.

There's also an ice skating rink in the village, complete with very loud music coming over the speakers, if you're in for this experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMac1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village of Baytowne Wharf also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Village of Baytowne Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing