We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Nice place/Average customer service”
Review of The Islander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Islander
Ranked #12 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed in 115; which was nice, but for $335 per night after fees/taxes, you'd expect better than a 13 inch TV in master BR. This unit is not managed by "The Islander," and they sure let you know it no matter what the issue. Had problem with one of the beds and had to call Holiday Isle properties. Their man finally got there late the next day. (I had already fixed the problem myself) Asked for a linen exchange and they said they would do it "ONE" time and acted as if they were doing us a huge favor. A few of the people went out of their way and a few seemed to have no customer service training.The Islander is nice, but I would be sure to rent through them.

Room Tip: Don't choose one managed by outside agency.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelLa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 170 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family and I loved it. The condo was exactly how it was described. Great location to the beach. The staff was very helpful. We will for sure stay there again. We carried my mother-n-law with us on our trip. It was her first to be at the beach in about 30 years. For her experience she loved it. She was very pleased with her room and surprised on how well the condo was equipped with everything that we would need for our week stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexandkbmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a wonderful time once again at The Islander. The beach has been restored to what it used to be. Stephen Parish and the staff were wonderful as was Nate setting up the umbrellas and chairs on the beach. The room and the facilities were great! Although we didn't have any children with us, they had activities planned for those who do. They still have karaoke on Monday night.

I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed with family and parents, total of 6, in a two bedroom condo facing west. Pools are simple but adequate for everything you need, my kids really enjoyed them. Facilities are well maintained and front desk was helpful. The hotel has its own beach access point, and because the Islander is off the main strip you do not have to worry about traffic or noise. Our room included everything one needed for a week at the beach, and the included beach service was very handy. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: West side rooms are cheaper and the view of the harbor is superior than the view of the beach from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Love the Islander! Rooms are very clean and nice. Grounds are kept nice as well. We stayed on the first floor and walked right out our patio to the pool and beach was maybe a 1 or 2 minute walk past the pool and tennis court. Beach is really beautiful, nice white sand, perfect for our sons to play in. We went during spring break and the heated pool was heated so nicely that even nights when it was cool out we could swim in it. Destin is a great place to go during spring break if you have young kids and want to stay away from the noise and partying at other places during spring break. If we decide to come back to Destin we will stay at the Islander again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

I just returned with my husband and two children from a week at the Islander...it was truly an amazing vacation that we will always cherish. We stayed in 604 which has a nautical theme and beautiful views of the gulf. My hubby and I were so impressed with the unit, we wouldn't mind selling our house and living there forever! The kids had a blast and the staff was very accommodating and friendly. We saw dolphins every morning from our balcony and fell asleep every night to the sounds of the ocean. We met a lot of very friendly people from all over the country. This is a great place for families and older crowds, they do not tolerate partying which made us very happy! Please stay you will not regret it! We cannot wait for our next trip to the Islander!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maraschinobambino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was a guest of The Islander resort on 4-2013. Let me tell you this is agreat resort to stay. The resort offers a private beach, chairs and umberella at no extra cost. The condos were well maintained and the out door grills were always clean. The condo was fully furnised with all the utensils you will need to cook and clean. The stores on highway 98 was easily accessable and the resort offered 2 swimming pools and 2 hot tubs. I must say that the next time I visit Destin Florida I will be staying at the Islander.

Room Tip: If you are going to the Islander try to get a room on the first or second floor. Otherwise you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awelch10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
3.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#33 of 39 in Destin
449 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sundestin Beach Resort
Sundestin Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in Destin
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Surf & Racquet Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander

Address: 502 Gulf Shore Dr, Destin, FL 32541-5076
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range: $184 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Islander 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islander condos are 2 bdrm/2 bath and feature a private balcony and a fully equipped kitchen. Amenities include 2 pools, whirlpools, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and a gym. Please note you must book through the Islander Rental Company to get the VIP program including FREE beach service. The off site rental companies do not offer our VIP program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Islander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing