We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Tripadvisor was right---OUTSTANDING!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Islander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Islander
Ranked #11 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
dexter.ny
Level Contributor
139 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor was right---OUTSTANDING!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2007

We wanted a different getaway and be not crowded-bingo! We stayed at The Islander for 12 days. They offered a stay 3nights get the 4th for free. The gentleman over the phone asked what we were looking for and recommended 503. It was perfect. Beautifully maintained with 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths. The 5th floor view was wonderful with dolphins making many appearences. It was quiet at night. Occupancy was low-very low as the high season ends after Halloween and the "snowbirds" had not arrived yet. The weather was nice all 12 days with temps70-74 during the day and cooler during the evening. I lied-one day near the end was mid-50's but much warmer even then coming from upstate NY. You can turn your sheets and towels in about evey other day-nice feature. You can play golf for free and get a rental movie free each day at local shops. This is one of the best bargains for November. I would not however want to be anywhere in Destin during high season. It still would be beautiful but very crowded like Cancun. This is as advertised NUMBER 1 with Tripadvisor and us. Love to go back someday.

  • Liked — location,staff.value.room
  • Disliked — plastic sheet on mattress made noise
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    40
    5
    7
    3
See reviews for
91
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2007

I just love staying at The Islander, it is just so comfortable for our family, including our two young children. We stay in unit 517 for the incredible views of the gulf, pass, and even dolphins! No kidding, my husband and I looked out the balcony one morning while having coffee and there were about 4 or 5 dolphins jumping completely out of the water, it was amazing! I have always been so pleased staying at the Islander that is was such a surprise to arrive to a totally redecorated and updated unit,(including wireless internet) I loved it. Another reason for the recomendation is the new amenity package including free golf, fishing, go carts, water park, and a seafood buffet, I don't know if I included everything but you get the point, pretty much everything you want to do is free. This is the perfect place and price for a relaxing beach vacation.

  • Liked — cute unit, great beach
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank seaschells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2007

We have ben staying at the Islander for years, we always rent 612, the sunset is fantastic from the balcony. This year we had a wonderful surprise as they have done some redecorating.
The decor is fabulous, very soothing, we even had a memory foam mattress pad for the fold out sofa, very comfy and nice. We will return to the Islander again, as usual in 612.

  • Liked — comfy beds, memory foam mattress pads
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunderkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2007

In just four more days we will once again return to the place we call home away from home. My family and I have been coming to The Islander since 1994, this is the very first time my husband and I get to take the adventure along! NO KIDS!!! Coming to the Islander is truly like coming home, everything you could want is right there. The condos are equipped just like your home, the bonus is you wake every morning to a beautiful view. Warm balmy weather, and other people who greet you cheerily because they are equally as happy to be here!

We stay on the upper floors where the view is spectacular! It's just a boardwalk away from the beach, two pools always nice and clean, and hottubs to sooth away your woes in the evening. This vacation is our favorite one. Anything you want to do is just minutes away by car. Affordable, they always run specials, friendly staff that always greet you with a smile on their face. Very neat and clean....everywhere! I want to bring the staff home each year!

We cannot sing their praises enough, when we found this retreat, we truly felt like we found our own slice of heaven on earth. This is the most layed back ,relaxing, affordable vacation you'll ever take. The private beach is family friendly as is the town....this is not a Spring Break beach! SO....GO FOR IT MY FRIENDS... Make it your next vacation spot...it will be your last one, you'll keep coming back we promise!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nonners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2007

Went there 9 years ago on the advice of friends. Have been vacationing there every summer every since. Great family place even though our kids are not kids any more. Obviously, we love it. Short walk to the beach. - Great place to relax. Bar-b-que hut with lots of friendly people. Going again.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank luvflordia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2007

The Islander's 2 bedroon 2 bath with living room, dining room, and full kitchen are just what we needed. we stayed in unit 710 with great balcony view. The staff was top notch. The only problem was that the beach was was too crowded with all those beach service chairs and umbrella set-ups made the beach a tight squeeze. Take my advice walk down towards the rocks for private beach space.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — beach was a tight squeeze
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cajags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
Level Contributor
216 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2007

my family and I visited Destin last summer. We stayed at the Islander. Their beach is extemely crowded. The water was very clear there, way too many people, though! There were not many shells or fish around. Just sand. Lots of soft ,powdery sand. The hotel was not the greatest, either. Small rooms. Will not return.

Helpful?
4 Thank RosemountChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
8.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#26 of 39 in Destin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sundestin Beach Resort
Sundestin Beach Resort
#8 of 56 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Surf & Racquet Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander

Property: The Islander
Address: 502 Gulf Shore Dr, Destin, FL 32541-5076
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Islander 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islander condos are 2 bdrm/2 bath and feature a private balcony and a fully equipped kitchen. Amenities include 2 pools, whirlpools, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and a gym. Please note you must book through the Islander Rental Company to get the VIP program including FREE beach service. The off site rental companies do not offer our VIP program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Islander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing