We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Edgewater in Destin Florida, one of the best vacation sites in Florida”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edgewater Beach Condominium
Ranked #4 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Edgewater in Destin Florida, one of the best vacation sites in Florida”
Reviewed March 15, 2010

The Condo was completely updated with all the ambiance that one could expect and was truly luxurious. We stayed 1405 a Terrace unit with superb views and great evening breezes. There was still some construction going on with an adjacent condo complex but that didn't bother us at all. The staff was superb and the free beach chairs and umbrella's was an added plus. There is nothing quite like the beach in Destin with it's white sand and light green water. i have stayed in many places in Florida however the Edgewater in Destin is the best.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanbAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    51
    22
    14
    14
See reviews for
162
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Had a great time on the Emerald Coast. The beach and weather were amazing and the great variety of restaurants and memorable meals completed the experience.

My family stayed at Edgewater Beach Resort and had a great view from our condo and we found it to be very comfortable and nice. We will definitely visit the Destin area again and are likely to stay at Edgewater. We recommend this resort and advise checking their rates and when they change as you can get a great deal by adjusting your trip dates to match when the rates drop/increase/etc.

Helpful?
Thank cdmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I would rate it nice with reservations. This is a nice place but definitely not top rated. we rented two 3 bedroom condos with terraces.. the condos themselves were very nice. updated, clean, etc. we had 9 adults and 5 children ages 2 to 7. The terraces scared us to death. railings did not seem safe. I cannot believe they pass safety codes. for an adult, they are fine. Little kids NO.Also they have made the ceilings as low as possible. I guess to get in more levels. This take a bit of getting use to, but is ok. I think the outside of the place, the pool and tiki hut, need some updating. Like someone else said, I think the kids pool was an old hot tup. it was warm in August, but really too deep for very small kids. it got deeper as you went to the center. Lounges around pool are adequate, but not first class. They look a bit old. they had the slowest elevators ever and two different days they were being worked on and only had one in operation. There were some numbers on the phone to call front desk, security, etc. but when we used them nothing went through. They charge $1.75 for a local call. Our vacuum had full bags and would not work. we called housekeeping to see if they keep extras as there were none in the condo. we have not heard back yet. Several of us took lap top computers. their wifi must be very weak. there were hours at a time when they were unusable. My husband was told they were strongest at the pool. We did not want to use them at the pool, but in our rooms. The cleanliness at the elevator entrances was ofter poor. Cigerette butts laying around not cleaned up for some time, etc.. They advertise a spa, but do not have one or at least it was not there when we were there. It had been next to the exercise room and it looked closed with the name scratched off the door. There was a sign outside the elevator that there was a lady to call who would come to your room.. One in our group is an avid exerciser and liked the exercise room. For $5.00 a day you could participate in an exercise class. She said the trainer was great, she loved the classes and did them every day. One thing that bugged us all is the preference they give to large groups, Ie wedding groups. There was a group renting 12 rooms. There is a policy that you cannot save seats at the beach for others in your group. I do not have a problem with making some consessions and saving some for large groups. but they saved a huge space with 16 seating places right in the middle of the beach area, giving them the best every day. On friday, the day after the wedding, by noon none of the people were out there. my son sat on one of the chairs on the very end of the saved seats and was immediately run off by the attendant. later when a few of the gtoup came out I saw the man give the boy a tip!!!. I guess that is how you get preference.. I know I sound negative. We had a good time and most of these things were only bothersome not horrible. This is a nice place but definitely not first class. , our condo itself was beautiful and comfortable. rooms were quite which was nice. I would not recommend a terrace room for little kids. Their prices are a bit high for what they offer. There is a lot of competition out there and they need to lower prices . They offer a nice, no frills place to stay. as a group, we will probably not go back. but really because we would like two or three condos next to each other. Our group is large and we can rent a house with pool for the same or near same price we paid for these two condos. My yes recommendation is based on the niceness of the condo and the beach. The beach is clean with beautiful sand and setting.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2009

The location is great! right on the beach, great views, super clean beach. We had room 610 and it was so nice. It is right across the street to restaurants, grocery and a great outlet mall. The pool was so nice and having the snack bar right there was great! we ate cheeseburgers on the beach and at the tables by the pool. Having to chairs and an umbrella was so nice for the week and free of charge. the only bad things we encountered was when we first arrived they wheeled out a deceased person right out the main elevator, that was our first greeting with the place so that was kind of disturbing to say the least. Second was that teenagers overtook the only hottub every single night. I would have liked to have taken a hottub but there was about 14 teens in there so i was not able to. Otherwise though it was a great place and perfect location. Our kids are 10 and 7 and they just loved playing at the beach every day! We took the dolphin cruise and loved it and at at a different restaurant every night! great trip. would go back again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garynyssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Juliet TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

I visted the Edgewater the week of July 26th with my 15 year old son. We had a walkout unit and it was perfect. We both had our own bedrooms and bathrooms. He loved being able to hook up his Playstation and lounge and step out to the pool on a whim. The condo was beautifully decorated and clean! I spent the majority of the week on the beach with the chair/umbrella combo. You just had to walk out the sliding glass door and the pool and beach were only steps away from the patio. It was lovely! The pool was very nice and the grounds were beautiful. We were able to park underground and get to the elevator with a very short walk. The grocery store was right across the street and we ate every meal in the condo. Also, we used the washer and dryer everyday. More than anything, I felt very safe and would recommend this condominium complex to anyone who just wants to get away and relax in style.

  • Liked — cleanliness and decor of condo
  • Disliked — children playing in the grass right beside of patio
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TennesseeVolLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNT WASHINGTON,KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2008

my family and i will return to edgewater again,and again!
we had room 1008,and it was beautiful.white sandy beaches,clear emerald waters,it was magnificent. two beautiful pools.it has everything you could ask for in a vacation retreat.ill be returning every year.the only thing i hated about edgewater was having to go back home to reality.i reccomend this place to everyone looking for a vacation getaway!

  • Liked — everything,room,beach,pools
  • Disliked — took about 3 hours to get our room ready,so that was not much fun waiting.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HALRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette,LA
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Another fantastic time at the Edgewater. This must be our 12th summer to stay at the Edgewater. There were 6 families from Lafayette on this trip. Family and friends together on the beach, nothing better. Already booked for next summer and can't wait to go back. Royer's Lafayette, LA

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyerLafayette_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Destin
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
1.3 mi away
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Beach Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Beach Condominium

Property: Edgewater Beach Condominium
Address: 291 Scenic Gulf Dr, Destin, FL 32550-4942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgewater Beach Condominium 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater Beach Condominium is the ultimate Destin beach front vacation rentals playground and best beachfront luxury condo. A magnificent, French Riviera-inspired resort rising majestically beside the sparkling emerald waters, pristine white sands and fiery sunsets of northwest Florida’s extraordinary Emerald Coast. Specialties: Luxurious gated condo living featuring- 1, 2 and 3 bedroom and Terrace condo units each with spectacular Gulf views- Full kitchen, washer and dryer, cable TV with complimentary HBO, and FREE wireless internet - Children's playground, shuffleboard court, basketball court gas grills, picnic area - State of the art fitness center, 2 large pools, hot tub and kiddy pool. One pool is heated, one pool has a waterfall - Free beach set up for each paid day of your stay from March 1 to October 31st - Tiki Bar Coupon weekly - Large private balconies opening from both the living area and master bedroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edgewater Beach Condominium Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing