We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Harbor View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn on Destin Harbor
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Harbor View”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed for the Memorial Day Weekend. Upon arrival and stepping out onto the 5th floor balcony, a dolphin jumped in the harbor!
Although the hotel is dated and the bathroom is TINY, we enjoyed our stay. The staff were great. The view from the reception/dining area is nice.
Not great were all the steps down to the pool deck and back up again (I have bad knee) ....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mojo721mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    125
    78
    47
    55
See reviews for
103
181
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed staying at this small hotel. We stayed on the 5th floor overlooking the harbor, and definitely recommend getting a harbor room. There were beautiful sunsets every evening which we enjoyed on the deck with a glass of wine and a gentle breeze. The bathroom was clean, and had a strong, rain shower with plenty of hot water. The bed linens, lampshades, and flat screen tv's all appeared brand new. The bed was very comfortable, and there is a good cable tv package with HBO. I was able to take care of some last minute business using the complimentary wireless internet connection, which was fast and connected easily after getting the code from the front desk. The complimentary ice was great to fill our cooler on the way to the beach.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Toothgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Checked in and within ten minutes, a knock at the door from other guests attempting to check into my room. Sure enough my room key and their room keys had same room numbers. Concierge Paul quickly contacted and apologized for that little mistake.
The room is extremely small. There are bird droppings all over the balcony and chairs. The sofa has huge stains. The growing mildew on the drapes leaves something to be desired. There is a cugarette burn on the chair. The wall outlet is not secured to the wall. The water damage on the outdated popcorn ceilings is frankly unacceptable. The small bathroom is a tight squeeze for a ten year old.
Will not return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dontcheckinhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We found this hotel on the internet. Its a old hotel that has been cheaply redone. In the rooms there are lots of things are very dated. Bathroom is very tiny. Added sprinkler system is an eye sore. If your looking for a place like the quality of a Motel 6 you won't be disappointed. The view and location are very good though.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdmuuuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

After the recent rain storms on the gulf, were so pleased to enjoy beautiful weather, water and blue skies for our trip recently- a welcome break after a stressful work week. We've stayed at the Inn on Destin Harbor several times, and it's one of our favorites in Destin. It did not disappoint. The staff is always so nice, and we feel right at home. Usually, whoever wakes first, brings coffee and breakfast up from the complimentary continental breakfast served in the lobby, and we take in the view. Speaking of the view, it is very relaxing, and a room with a harbor view is a must as far as I'm concerned:) The proximity of the Inn is great for walking to the Boardwalk, the Harbor Walk Village, and excellent restaurants. It's a comfortable walk from the hotel, and it was so fun to see the pelicans in the marina, and also an occasional dolphin or two would pop up in the harbor outside our room! There's a new restaurant right next door, with great cocktails and ambience. The front desk staff at the Inn recommended a place for boat rentals, also within walking distance and we treated ourselves to a pontoon boat rental- highly recommended to do this! The pool was great, and we enjoyed the sunset while we ate fish we grilled on the hotel grill. All in all, it was an awesome stay. Thank you Inn on Destin Harbor, we'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NewOrleansSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a great price! On the harbor, great view! Great free breakfast in the nice looking lobby. Little beach and pool. Rooms are not great by any means but they are clean! Friendly amazing staff! This is an old hotel and definitely not a 5 star resort but it's quaint and charming. For the price you can't beat it! It's close to everything!!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James3liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thanks so much for the great review! We'll keep working hard so you have an even better experience with us next time! Come back and visit us in Destin soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

make sure you ask the right questions if you want to stay in this hotel the lobby is very deceiving to the room. Make sure you ask what floors allow pets , if you don't have one you don't want a room on that floor. Staff was very nice, but hotel needs major renovating. Beds were like sleeping in a hammock very soft in the middle and smelled. Shower needed to be grouted and was moldy. I normally sleep naked but could not because of bed bugs.
This hotel was definitely one of those that you see on 20/20 I know if I had one of those scope lights and we would have found much more. how can they get away with charging 120.00 to 160.00 a night was way too much for this dump. Pool area was run down the hallways dirty. NEVER again would we stay there or recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Dump keep looking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 762Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Wow, so sorry you had this experience. It is not common and I'm certain if you came back, you'd feel different. We stay very busy and have to constantly work to upgrade our hotel because beds, etc get worn down quickly. We are replacing mattresses all of the time. I'm sure we would have replaced your's immediately given the opportunity. We've actually recently replaced all the bedding with newer "stylish" sheets and bed scarfs and have more plans for upgrading in the rooms. We take a lot of pride in this hotel and think it's far from a "dump".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
2.5 mi away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#14 of 39 in Destin
414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Inn of Destin
Village Inn of Destin
#30 of 39 in Destin
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#20 of 39 in Destin
171 reviews
0.8 mi away
Destin Inn & Suites
Destin Inn & Suites
#29 of 39 in Destin
134 reviews
10.8 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Destin Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Destin Harbor

Property: Inn on Destin Harbor
Address: 402 Harbor Boulevard (Highway 98), Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Destin Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located in the heart of Destin, Florida, directly on Destin Harbor- Walking distance to award-winning Destin waterfront dining- Waterfront pool with spacious deck overlooking Destin Harbor- All rooms are non-smoking, each with a private balcony- Ever-changing panoramic views of Historic Destin HarborOffering Scenic Views and Sumptuous Service- Accommodations include complimentary continental breakfast with a waterfront view of the Destin Harbor- Perfectly located accommodations for the Destin hotel or motel traveler, ideally suited for leisure, military, or corporate travelers- Pet-friendly rooms are available with additional fee, please ask when booking your room- 24-hour concierge service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn on Destin Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Destin Harbor Hotel Destin
Hotel On Destin Harbor
Inn Destin Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing