We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn on Destin Harbor
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Destin
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for us”
Reviewed July 10, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Inn from 6/21 to 6/28/2008. We've stayed here before but it had been a couple years. There have been steady improvements to the lobby, pool area, and rooms. We selected this hotel because of its location - dive shops, restaurants/bars, and other attractions are all within easy walking distance and it has a great view of Destin harbor. Our main level harbor view room was well furnished but could use a little maintenance - the sliding glass door to the balcony did not seal well and the A/C unit was a little noisy. The beds were comfortable; the refrigerator, TV, and bath fixtures all worked fine. The bathroom is small but it would be difficult to remodel because of the layout/construction. The large balcony with table and chairs had a fantastic view of the harbor. It was perfect for drying dive gear, watching for dolphins in the harbor early in the morning, watching the fireworks on Thursday evenings, sunsets, and relaxing. The small beach area has tables, chairs, and umbrellas. The pool area was clean and had lounge chairs and a nicely furnished covered area. The free breakfast in the mornings had a good selection of juice, coffee, milk, bagels, muffins, danish, and cereal.
Suggested improvements include the addition of internet access (wired or wireless) and microwaves in the rooms.
We did have an issue when attempting to book directly with the front desk but we discussed this with the manager (Justin) when we arrived and he assured us the problem employee was no longer there.
In summary, while the Inn may not fit everyone's needs, it works well for us when we visit Destin for a scuba vacation and we will return in the near future.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RandynSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    124
    78
    47
    55
See reviews for
102
181
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2008

We decided at the last minute to stay in Destin rather than drive home. Walked in and booked a waterfront room at a decent price. Loved the view of the harbor and the easy walk to restaurants. Room was clean, quiet, and desk staff friendly. Surprised to be offered sparkling wine in the lobby at check-in. Only complaint was my usual one- coffee weeeeeeak both in the room and at the breakfast. Suggest you bring your own if you care about a good cup in the morning.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank MSRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beausejour, Mb.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2008

We booked the Inn for 1 week, and because of the great hospitality shown by the staff, we stayed for another 2 weeks. We had a beautiful harbour view and enjoyed sitting on our balcony watching the dolphins, yachts and fishermen.The staff really made us feel welcome and at home. It was a family atmosphere. They were helpful in giving us local information on sites and dining. The rates were very reasonable. We would highly recommend anyone going to Destin to stay at the "Inn on Destin Harbor". We had a very enjoyable and hospitable vacation.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank MbManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2008

I was traveling through Destin a few days ago and I stopped by the Inn on Destin Harbor on my way through. We were actually on our way to Pensacola, but we ended up stopping at the Inn on Destin Harbor because we were told it was a nice hotel.

We dropped in to check out the hotel and the guy at the desk was very nice. He talked with us for about fifteen minutes about the area and things to do. We ended up postponing out trip to Pensacola a day and we stayed in Destin and took the advice of the guy at the desk. We are very happy we stayed. It was a great hotel, we had a great dinner next door and enjoyed the view and the breakfast the following morning.

Thanks for taking the time to talk with us and we will be back in a few months, and this time, we are heading straight to Destin

  • Liked — The staff and view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stevefromcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2008

We recently did a family trip to Destin for Christmas break and we went online to make some reservations. Since we were going to be spending a holiday there, we wanted to get something that would feel like our home away from home as we spent time with our family. We found the Inn and looked at their website and knew it was the hotel for us. When we arrived at the hotel, the second we walked into the lobby, we knew we got lucky. The guy at the desk was smiling and happy to see us, the rooms were clean and the view of the Harbor was amazing. (Do yourself a favor and upgrade to the waterfront rooms!!!) Everything from the view to the saltwater fish tank in the lobby was wonderful. The price was slightly less than the Hampton Inn and I truly believe we wouldn't have had the same service we got at the Inn. Thank you to the staff there for making our first Christmass trip a memorable one. We will be back in the spring!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank touringthecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2007

My friend and I picked this hotel to spend Thanksgiving in Destin and because it was dog friendly. We walked into the lobby which was very nice and waited 45 minutes for someone behind the desk to acknowledge us. Then he was rude to us, and they taxed the pet deposit. Our room was gross. Stained carpet, smelled like mildew and the balcony door didn't seal at the bottom. We called for a taxi one night and 50 minutes later called back and the front desk person said he came and left because she couldn't remember what room we were in. The shower was disgusting. The hotel provided us with half empty bottles of shampoo and lotion. We came back from being out one night and my dog was hiding under the bed. the next mornig we woke up freezing and realized the balcony door was open and there were cigarette butts on the chairs outside. Crazy thing is, we don't smoke, we were out there the night before and the butts weren't and we locked the door before we left. We were so weirded out that we checked out a whole day early and when we did no one even asked why and if we enjoyed our stay. I would never recommed this hotel, and this whole experience has put a bad taste in my mouth for Destin

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything besides the location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank januarypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2007

Our stay at this hotel was very pleasant and enjoyable. It is refreshing to know that there are still good hotels which do not belong to a "national chain". The rooms facing the harbor have a great view and the balcony is a great place to relax and take in the sights. The room was very clean and everything was in order. The front desk staff was very courteous and friendly. I will definitely return on my next trip to Destin.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank sandpiperNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
0.3 mi away
Village Inn of Destin
Village Inn of Destin
#31 of 39 in Destin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.5 mi away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#13 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Destin Inn & Suites
Destin Inn & Suites
#29 of 39 in Destin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 39 in Destin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
8.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Destin Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Destin Harbor

Property: Inn on Destin Harbor
Address: 402 Harbor Boulevard (Highway 98), Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Destin Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located in the heart of Destin, Florida, directly on Destin Harbor- Walking distance to award-winning Destin waterfront dining- Waterfront pool with spacious deck overlooking Destin Harbor- All rooms are non-smoking, each with a private balcony- Ever-changing panoramic views of Historic Destin HarborOffering Scenic Views and Sumptuous Service- Accommodations include complimentary continental breakfast with a waterfront view of the Destin Harbor- Perfectly located accommodations for the Destin hotel or motel traveler, ideally suited for leisure, military, or corporate travelers- Pet-friendly rooms are available with additional fee, please ask when booking your room- 24-hour concierge service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn on Destin Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Destin Harbor Hotel Destin
Hotel On Destin Harbor
Inn Destin Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing