We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Blues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village of Baytowne Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Village of Baytowne Wharf
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Pensacola, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Blues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I wanted to get away for a romantic weekend without having to drive very far, yet have an exciting time. On a last minute deal, we decided to drive towards Destin, Florida and stay in one of the resorts at the village, specifically the LeCiel. The accommodations were nice, modern and sophisticated. However, due to its age and construction (concrete), the radiant noise left us with a stay to be less desired. We were awakened throughout the night and well into the morning with doors slamming from guest next door. Their kid kept banging on the balcony rails which also were heard in our room. The house keeping staff showed little regard to the guest as they kept going in and out of the rooms in our area without closing the doors tenderly so you were startled the doors slamming against the locks that latch the door at eye level. Needless to say, I had to let property management know about what transpired. After informing them of the ruined experience during our honeymoon getaway, they certainly made up for the entire occasion. We even had to turn down a night because we could not stay due to having to return work. They certainly believe in making sure that you have a positive experience upon departure. They shifted our accommodations to the beach side of the resort which made up for the bad night. We relocated to the Luau which is a newer more updated property. It was too cold to get in the pool, but we enjoyed just strolling along the sidewalks and holding hands. Overall, we would certainly return and I am also a travel agent so it was good to see that they would extend such great service to my clients if they were impacted in the same manner. Great resort, location and food is a plus! A perfect couple of nights would have yielded a 5 rating, but would have been lower if the experience wasn't salvaged.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    10
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
17
14
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eastpoint, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

From the outstanding views, the activities for the kids and adults. It is a great family vacation spot or a getaway for couples. Dining is wonderful with so many choices. This is the absolute best vacation spot I have ever been to.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcs_lucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed at Overlook Point which is situated right at the main entrance to Baytowne Wharf. We arrived to no parking in the "restricted" overnight garage because the general public was allowed to park in the garage. So condo owners/renters had to fight it out with drunk drivers for parking spots. This happened several times while I was there in one week.

The entrance to Baytowne Wharf is filled with trams, cars, buses and loud obnoxious people all day long and all night. If you want to enjoy your "private" patio and the ocean breeze - forget it! If you like being around drunk a-holes and yelling then this is the place for you!

My advice - if you have kids or like to party and don't care about noise, privacy or relaxing then have at it!! If you prefer privacy and the ability to chill out, relax and enjoy yourself then stay somewhere else! I've stayed at the Bahia in the same resort for 2 years and it was wonderful!!! It's not in the Baytowne Wharf center and you can enjoy your patio and outdoor space. Actually any condo on that end of the Bay would be better - Bahia, Elation, Grand SanDestin are all good choices.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank petitejambon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

The prices on their menu were not reflected in the amount we were (over)charged on Christmas Day. We brought this to the owners attention & she did not correct our bill but did admit the fault was hers. Very bad business!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

My sister had made a reservation here, so I decided to come along. It was during New Year's, so the place was somewhat crowded. I had to sleep on a converter bed because the other bed was dirty. Then, around 2:00 in the morning, I awoke to a fire alarm blaring in the hallway. It ended up being a false alarm, which really worsened my thoughts about this place. I would not return to this place ever again!

Room Tip: Try to get the townhouses. They are way much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

My wife and I were looking forward to staying at this place given the positive rating from many previous visitors. We were extremely disappointed by the our stay there though. The room was already prepaid through Bookit. com and was not ready for check in when we arrived at 3PM. Finally we got a room at 6PM at the "Pilot House" # 324, which was a small room with 2 double beds and NO CHAIR. The TV was a 19" tube TV with very limited channels and the view was blocked by trees. It was dark in the room during the day without the lights on. Access to the room is difficult and we have to walk across the hot indoor parking garage to go to the restaurants and shops. We were awakened at 3 AM by loud fire alarm and had to scramble outside with other travelers in our sleeping apparel. It was false alarm! The parking garage was full beyond capacity on the 1st night that we had to hunt for a parking spot far away from our room. On check out we were charged additional $50 for "resort fee" despite having the stay prepaid in full. Needless to say we did not even get a chance to use the included 2 hr bike rental or 1 hr of canoeing. Overall, a very disappointing and stressful stay. We will never stay there again!

Room Tip: Do not book through third party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dochlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastpoint, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

I have been married and working for the past 18 years and my wife surprised me by a vacation albeit for only one night at the baytowne wharf village. I almost instantly fell in love with this place it is laid back and has all the shops and places to eat you could want. We only saw half of what they have to offer.The condos are nice and the area is so peaceful . You park your car and then walk every where. I live in a tourist town so shops and things do not impress me much but this place had everything . I would suggest it to anyone family with small or teeage kids or just a couple getting away. it has it all. So i went 18 years without a vacation I already booked a weekend in a month for my second.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank jcs_lucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Destin
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
7.8 mi away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#10 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#17 of 39 in Destin
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village of Baytowne Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village of Baytowne Wharf

Property: Village of Baytowne Wharf
Address: 9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy W, Destin, FL 32550
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Village of Baytowne Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Of Baytowne Wharf Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing