We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Surf & Racquet Club
Ranked #7 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Vaiden, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Still a great place to stay”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

12 of us were down in July and shared 2 condos. Both condos were very nice and clean. We had great views of the beach. The location was great for the Harbor walk, malls, and grocery stores. Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: All the condos have a balcony that face the ocean. I would recommend that you take an upper condo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parker Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    53
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
83
36
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

What Holiday Surf & Racquet Club lacks in gleaming, trendy, spit-shined and polished condos on the beach-front, it more than makes up for in incredible location, friendly staff (inside and outside), and overall comfort just steps away from the sugar-white sand. Our extended family (18 people overall) rented four separate condos and had a wonderful week of beach, pool, tennis and fishing. Holiday Isle is a gem and is much less crowded than what happens on Hwy 98. The team at Holiday Surf is quite friendly and Scott (the chair/umbrella guru) is great for recommendations on just about anything. Having two first floor units was a key given the elevators are a little old and slow. There were also some renovations going on around the property, which didn't bother us too badly. We will be back again and look forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

At $300/night I would expect a lot more than just beach and location. I have traveled the world and I know what $300/ night should get you. If location to the busiest most tourists you can be near is what you like in a location, this is it. If paying a lot of money to not have free WiFi as advertised, electricity that randomly works, mold in your bathroom, pool that is constantly shut down for chemical imbalances, stained carpets, no washer/dryer in units (only a few units offer this) but you can pay for laundry on 4th floor, and knobs falling off cabinets, just to name a few, then this is your place. The biggest complaint is the inconsistency here. You have some rooms beautifully upgraded for the same price as ones that were updated 20 years ago! If I wanted to stay at a camp I would have and for much less. They did however spend a great deal of money installing a security gate this year they are very proud of. Speaking of security, Security guard at night is no help when your electricity goes out, I was told to find the electric box, where? I had just gotten here! Front desk, well, not much better. There are way too properties and choices in this area and beyond to have to settle for this place. I will not ever return here and that is unfortunate considering how much we live the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruzieru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

WOW….what a great vacation at a great price! Our family was looking for a place to enjoy the beautiful beaches and found it at Holiday Surf. We stayed in Unit 117, and the arrangement worked perfectly. Our car with luggage and groceries was ten steps out our front door while the sandy white beach was 20 steps out our back door. The first floor was definitely a wise decision and worth the few extra bucks.

Like many of the other reviewers, we found the beaches to be clean and safe. In fact, they were so safe that we were completely comfortable making the 20 minute walk along the shore to the jetties at midnight.

The building seemed like it was one of the earlier models in the area for two reasons. First, it was stucco (which just reminds me of “early Florida”), but second, it was so close to the beach. In talking with one of the other guests that had been visiting the area for years, he said that it was built before zoning required condos to be set further back from the water.

The property was nicely maintained with no-frills amenities. We were able to exchange our towels three times during the week, use the tennis equipment, and checkout free DVD’s. The beach umbrella and chairs were free too. We chose Unit 117 based on the website photos. It was clean, comfortable and well-equipped…actually even better than what we saw in the photos.

We are already looking forward to our next vacation!

Room Tip: Stayed in Unit 117. Perfect location on first floor with easy beach access. Clean and well-equipped.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank FourDorfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Coming up on our 26th year visiting Destin. This is our favorite of all the places we've stayed. The quite beach, access to the harbor, just wonderful. Love taking the water taxi, love our unit #119, love being on the first floor. Clean, friendly, just love it!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emilyhouse2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay at Holiday Surf and I love it! We are still here one more day! Is it an older facility---yes somewhat---but each owner of the condos can decorate and update if they choose to. Some have, some have not. We are in 418 and it is very nice and clean. The view is great. The beach is not crowded, because it is a private beach. The guys that set up the chairs and things are great about making sure only guests of HSRC use the beach and check off your name when you go down. Internet is intermittent, So if you rely on it, you may need to get closer to the lobby. The staff is extremely friendly. The location is great on Holiday Isle. The pool is nice and has to be quiet after 10. A security guard walks around at night. We have teenagers with us and they too are having a great time. I will definitely stay here again. :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had 3 people staying in the one bedroom condo. Elevator is only on one side of the bldg so it can be a bit of a walk to your room from the elevator. Everything was fine but the furniture was not comfortable. We took turns sitting in the recliner. The pull out bed on the couch was brand new and slept great~!! the air conditioner was noisy. The wifi was too weak to access in the room and my kindle nor my friends Ipad would not pick up on the balcony. The Balcony scene was great~!! View of ocean was wonderul. We watched Manatees and Dolphins. The chairs are old and hard to get out of if you are getting older. We had 2 chairs and 3 people so that was an issue. Extra chair was $7 a day. The pool and lounge chairs were great. Deposit was sent back to me quickly. It was a nice stay but not excited enough to return.

Room Tip: The higher up the better for the view~!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heyjude1724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
8.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
0.7 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#28 of 39 in Destin
439 reviews
10.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Surf & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Surf & Racquet Club

Property: Holiday Surf & Racquet Club
Address: 510 Gulf Shore Dr, Destin, FL 32541-3038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Surf & Racquet Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful one and two bedroom condos overlooking Destin's beach. Warm Gulf waters, soothing waves, and beautiful sand add up to a relaxing and fun vacation for the entire family. Each condo offers Gulf views, a screened-in balcony and a full kitchen. Located directly on the beach, Holiday Surf has great amenities like tennis courts, a heated pool, 24 hour personnel, laundry facilities, copy & fax services and more. Get a complimentary beach umbrella set up with 2 chairs March through October 30. Ask about our Seasonal Specials! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Surf & Racquet Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Surf & Racquet Club Hotel Destin
Holiday Surf And Racquet Club
Holiday Surf Racquet Hotel
Hotel Holiday Surf Racquet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing