We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundestin Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff were rude, the view is great but sofa bed is very uncomfortable. And if you need more towels or toilet paper, you have to pay for it. Great view and great pools and nice condos.the pools were clean, but the splash pad isnt approved by the state yet so kids didnt get to play. Hot tub is nice and they have grills for guests

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarabushong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 392 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have stayed here for many years, and it continues to be a great spot for a family vacation. Property is located on the beach, but there are also indoor and outdoor pools. There are 1, 2, and 3 bedroom units, and 1 bedroom typically includes built in bunk beds. Facility also has a front desk to help you, small restaurant, workout center, dvd rentals, workout center, and video game room. Expect a lot of parents and smaller kids. Located close to Big Kahuna water park and The Track Go-Kart center. Units are privately owned, and to avoid the older models, it is best to ask for a "Gold Unit", which is an upgraded unit that has to pass an inspection.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Includes 1, 2, and 3 bedroom units. Ask for a "Gold Unit"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backporch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed in room 1817 which had a view of the coast and was cheaper than a straight on ocean view, and in my opinion a better view anyway. You walked out of the hotel straight to the beautiful beach. The resort also had both an indoor and outdoor pool. No breakfast but then again, its all condos so its great to be able to go and get your own food for breakfast and lunch, then go out for dinners. Downsides: they set up too many chairs very close together at the beach and you're not allowed to have your own umbrella (we went and purchased chairs at wal-mart, very smart move!). The fold-out couch is also not comfortable to sleep on. Would love to stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms with a coast view are cheaper and in my opinion a better view anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taranell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Sundestin for 6 nights with 5 people - 3 teenagers. We only got 1 bedroom so we expected it to be tight, but it really wasn't bad. There was a queen bed in the bedroom with an attached 1/2 bath. There were 2 bunk beds built into hallway with a curtain for privacy. Kitchen was decent size and we cooked several times. Biggest complaint was lack of space to store luggage after we unpacked.
They provided 6 towels, 2 rolls of toilet paper, 2 packages of automatic dishwashing det. They had pay washers and dryers but we had to purchase own laundry det. Not a big deal, I expect to. I guess they sell it in the onsite store, but it closed at 4pm well before we needed it. Staff was not very helpful and we had to drive to a grocery store to get some.
HOWEVER, we were on the 17th floor overlooking the Emerald Coast with a balcony and a great view up and down the beach so I can't really complain much.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DisneyToBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here with our 7 & 9 year old boys, and had a great time. There was a small problem with our unit and we asked to switch units. The first unit was not updated and just felt "too used" With broken door knobs and overall wear. The management quickly switched our unit, and it was very nice! Updated and very clean. They have great family friendly activities and a great beach area.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family_w_Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My family and I enjoyed a return to the Sundestin Beach Resort for a second weekend in as many months. Another great get a way. The Staff is the best and the location can't be beaten. We feel the value is certianly there. The property is well managed, safe and a great value. Of course the beach is wonderful. We highly recommend staying at the property. Thank you Scott, Ian and staff. Mark and Jenny

Room Tip: Depending on your family needs the coast view is really wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerOne4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Less Than helpful Staff. BringYourOwnTowels, Toilet Paper, And Wash Cloths. They AdvertiseThat YouAreProvided WithTowelsButOnlySoManyThenYouHaveToPay FOr More. They Won't Let You Have Your Own Umbrellas Unless Approved By Them. You HaveTo Purchase Theirs For Use Of Course If Yours Doesn't Pass. IfYouUse Toilet Paper BuY More Because They Won't Give You More. Roach Found In Room. You Have To Empty Your Own Garbage And Wash Dishes When Leaving, Which WouldBE Fine But You Pay A Cleaning Fee. BedS And Pillows Are Cheap And Horrible. Have To Go To The LEss Than helpful Desk Staff For Key For Workout Room And For Safe Lord Help If You Lose It. Big Women At Front Desk Went To Bathroom Half Washed Hands...No Paper Towels So She Flung Her Hands And Headed Back To Work With The Public.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wagg00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
6.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
0.5 mi away
SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel
8.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundestin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundestin Beach Resort

Address: 1040 Hwy 98 E, Destin, FL 32541-2938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range: $175 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundestin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sundestin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundestin Beach Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing