We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tennis Program at Hidden Dunes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
East Berlin, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tennis Program at Hidden Dunes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Both the guests and the tennis staff at Hidden Dunes are passionate about tennis! The staff in the pro shop are especially helpful in setting up matches if you need a game and the instructional competence is high. That said, this is a resort that definitely caters to the "senior" crowd. Not much singles play and the average age of the players is probably 70. Just keep that in mind if you don't fit that demographic.

Room Tip: I did not stay at this resort, only came here to participate in the tennis program.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BillWaring1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    20
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
72
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Go to Hidden Dunes! It is a beautiful community close to lots of activities, shopping and dining, but out of the congestion of central Destin. In addition to the Gulf of Mexico and tennis courts, there are a lake and an extensive water feature, as well as beautifully landscaped and maintained grounds. Gulfside is a highrise right on the beach; beach villas are one step back from the beach; and cottages a little farther away.

Just look carefully at the details and pictures of the unit you plan to book. Several different companies manage properties in the resort. They have different standards, and the quality of the units varies greatly. Some have been updated, and some are in need of serious attention. We stayed in Gulfside 1102 - apparently Resort Quest does not require much. The whole unit is "dated" and "worn" - cabinets/counters, floors, walls. Bed linens were the lowest thread count I've ever seen; toilet function needed to be addressed; tv's were from the last century (and we had to connect the one in the living room to cable). We learned that there are great units, too. They would be well worth the extra dollars. The negatives below pertain only to the unit we stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tyandgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Destin has long been a vacation destination for my family, and we've stayed in many great places. Hidden Dunes really delivered. The community was lovely and inclusive without being overwhelming or too touristy. We had fantastic accommodations looking right at the beach, which was, of course, pure white sand. They're tennis facility was very well-maintained and manicured. I had the benefit of hitting with two of their pros, Phil and Mikey. I've worked with many tennis pros over the course of my life, and they were the most involved and interested in making sure I got maximum attention and instruction for the time I was with them. If I had a complaint, it's that they only offered green clay courts. I'm a partial to hard courts, but that's really a personal preference more then a critique.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Topher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, IN
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We rented a 2bd 2 ba condo from resort quest at the last minute for a three day weekend. I have been to many islands in the Caribbean and to most areas in Florida but this was my first trip to Destin. I loved the beach here, the water was clear and a beautiful green , I felt like I was on an island. The water was so calm, we enjoyed watching the dolphins one morning while we were swimming. The condo was unit 404 and was nice and clean. It was a bit dated but what I loved about the unit was it had its own ice maker !!!! We had a few maintenance issues and called resort quest and they had maintenance there within the hour. We had beautiful views from our balcony. The only thing I would lik to see is a restaurant and bar on site. There is no where to walk to for lunch or dinner. We enjoyed going to eat at harbor village and Baytowne which are a short drive.. AJs is a great place for music and night life but food and service are not good. Kids enjoyed fudpuckers, but there were too many kids for us to stay very long. We also parasailed it was great trip!!!

Room Tip: High floor and not by the elevtor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peyton0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed in cottage 210, which was second floor but well maintained and clean. The pool was probably 40 yards from the front door and access to the beach by walking was probably like 150-200 yards however they provide shuttle service through much of the day. The grounds were well cleaned and maintained. We were there when the waves were very high so our youngest stayed in the pool while our older daughters stayed around the beach, in short everyone was happy!! The pool area was neat and clean and in general I felt like it was a great bargain especially for a family with the multiple bedrooms and baths. Like all rentals it could probably use a little more attention to upgraded decor. Location was killer 2 minutes to shopping and alot of great resturants within 10 min. Grills are located close to the rentals so you could burn your own steaks. By far the best vacation our family has had and the resort contributed to that.

Room Tip: Cottages begining with 200 are second floor, which is ok if you are ok with steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jim1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Its my first time staying at Hidden Dunes #126 and I have to say its a great location.... walking distance to the beach and also had a tram service to take us back and from our cottage to beach. I didnt like how the tennis court was not available unless you pay additional fee. As for as the condition of the place. Its a bit dated. The furnitures need to be updated and bed comforter doesnt seem to be as clean as it should. ... we killed a few roaches also. I will definitely come back again if the negative things I pointed out are addressed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Huyen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My family of 4 stayed in a cottage (#158) at Hidden Dunes. We enjoyed our stay and will stay here again on future visits. The resort is beautifully landscaped and is kept very clean. Our cottage was located near the bigger pool. We enjoyed many trips to the pool & hot tub. The beach was within a short walking distance. We walked most of the time, but we also rode on the golf cart that transports guests to & from the beach. The employees at the security gate & who drove the golf cart were very friendly. The resort's location is also near lots of dining, entertainment, and shopping attractions.

Room Tip: We booked our cottage using Resorts Realty. We booked during a time when they offered 15% off. Their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccermom0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Destin
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
7.2 mi away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#10 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort

Property: Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort
Address: 9815 Hwy 98 W, Destin, FL 32550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Destin
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort is nestled within a 27-acre, wooded area with beautiful beach front. The resort features Gulf-front condominiums, lakeside villas and Carolina cottages -- along with an excellent staff ready to fulfill your vacation needs. The onsite tennis center features six Rubico, clay courts, USPTA trained professionals and great activities and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Hotel Destin
Hidden Dunes Beach And Tennis Resort
Hidden Dunes Beach Tennis Resort
Hidden Dunes Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing