We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First timer - to be more timer!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Resorts of Pelican Beach
Ranked #8 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2007

My wife and 2-year old daughter stayed at Pelican Beach for 4 nights in late August on the 16th floor. Overall we have been traveling to Destin for several years staying in hotels or small condos and our stay at Pelican was by far the best stay to date. We will definitely stay there again next year and I will try to reserve the same unit. I can't speak for other rooms but our unit specifically was well kept and you can tell the owners took great pride in improving the unit even offered a book for feedback of your stay.

As for ammenties outside the unit we were impressed by the staff, pool, beach service, etc. Overall for the hotel being 10 years old I thought it was well maintained and kept up.

As a business traveler that has the pleasure of staying in a variety of hotels across the U.S. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, be it families or newlyweds.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stumonky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 450 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2007

We just stayed at the Pelican Beach Resort last week in July. We took our 6 year old twins and 8 year old. The building itself was very nice and clean. The staff was fairly friendly. We had a beach view room on the 17th floor and it was beautiful. The water is so clear and the sand is white. However the beach at the Pelican is EXTREMELY crowded at this time of year! It was a struggle to find a spot if you didn't rent the chairs from the hotel. Many people brought their own umbrellas and chairs. But they would get up at the crack of dawn to go claim their spot on the front row of the beach before the hotel set up their chairs. The beach on either side of the hotel was not near as crowded but both were marked "private" for that hotel only. And using the word hotel is not really accurate, since a hotel comes and cleans the rooms and gives you clean towels daily. You have to wash your own towels if you go through them all. And nobody cleaned our room the whole time we were there (4 nights). Also while we were there one elevator broke down the second day we were there and it still wasn't up and running when we left. Then another one was on the fritz too. The last day they had two elevators running for all 20 floors and everyone was trying to leave on the same day it seemed like. It was a MESS! Riding the elevators takes forever too with all the stopping at every floor. They need more elevators for a place that size.
The pools are nice, but not big enough to accomodate all the people staying at this place (or the beach). The room we had was nice and the kids had a blast while we were there. The beds were not very comfortable and our shower was backed up though. The pullout couch bed was a joke. It was like a piece of paper on some springs.
Overall it was a nice place, but I think if we went back to Destin I would try to find someplace else not so big or crowded on the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bunch06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

The overall property is nice, I guess. Beware if you are staying at "The Terrace", the sister condos, that you are not near the beach at all. Prepare to hike across a long, hot parking lot. If you are staying at "Pelican Beach", you're close to the beach in that you are beach front. IF YOU WANT A PLACE TO SIT ON THE BEACH NEAR THE WATER, you'd best get up at 6am like we did EVERYDAY to go secure your spot on the beach. The beach area is probably 80 yards at the most and you are sharing it with the entire complex of Pelican Beach AND The Terrace. You also have the local beach nazis putting out 2 chairs/umbrellas (for a nominal charge---ha ha ha) EVERYWHERE beginning at 645am every day. They put the umbrellas about 1 foot apart when open so that you can barely walk on the beach. PLUS.....because the beach and pool area is SO small, you have to wear armbands and they have bouncers posed at each stairway coming up from the beach. If you lose your armband, it's $25 to replace it. It's a condo and it's beach front....Outside of that....it is nothing special and I will never go back there. Too many other better places to stay in Destin/Ft.Walton. Plus, they rope off either side of the beach because the condos on either side don't want you on their beach (even though it's empty!). So they cram all of the hundreds of people on this tiny beach. You're better off packing up and going to one of the public beaches which defeats the purpose of staying at this location. And then there are rednecks who will bust up under your umbrella with total disregard for your things! (Amazing.)
Our condo had broken glass in the bathroom behind the door.
The wine glasses were all cracked and the corkscrew was broken.
Cleanliness? It wasn't horrible.
The beds? WERE HORRIBLE. It was like sleeping on the tile floor. The bunk beds were rickety and uncomfortable also.
Like I said, we'll never ever go back there. It cost $1,200.00 for 4 nights in a 1 BR, 2 bath condo.

IF YOU WANT TO PARASAIL----Go to Sundogs in Okaloosa County (across the bridge about 3-5 minutes from Pelican Beach on the harbor side) and parasail for $45.00 per person! Our whole family did it and it was WONDERFUL! They charge $100.00 on the beach to do this.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank happytravelinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2007

I just returned from Pelican Beach Resort last weekend. This was my second stay at this resort. The condo was fairly nice, however the floors did need a good cleaning. Also, there were dirty dishes in the cabinet. I feel this is the cleaning staff errors. The building seems to be well maintained. They have a liitle deli and a tiki bar which is nice. My main complaint with this property is the small beach. We were there during Memorial weekend and the week following, it was difficult finding a place to sit on the beach. Pelican Beach has a small private beach and it is overrun with the rental umbrellas. It was three and four deep some days. It was difficult picking my way through the sea of umbrellas to get to the ocean. The first time we visited was the second week of March of 2006 and the beach was not an issue at that time. The bottom line is I would never go back to Pelican Beach during peak summer because the beach is a miserable place to be during that time. Enjoying the beach is what makes the 10 hour drive worth the trip.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank aig02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2007

I've stayed at Pelican Beach a couple of times before and this time was just as good!

We decided at the last minute to head to the beach as the kids (10, 12 & 13) were free for a few days after school was out and before camps started.

We stayed in a two-bedroom condo with a view down the beach towards the east. The sunrises are great! Coming from the eastern time zone, it's not too hard to get up in time to see it. Since the deli doesn't open early in the moring, just remember to bring/purchase some coffee for the early mornings so you can make your own. You don't want to venture off and miss the show!

Otherwise, our condo was in good shape and clean. The building exterior and grounds are well maintained. We booked through the management company located on site. This was helpful when we headed to the beach and left our keys inside the condo!

Other things we liked:

I'm not sure if it was planned, but the pool is shaded in the later afternoon by the building. It has always been a relief for the kids to still be able to swim and get out of the sun.

The location is great for us having kids. Close to Big Kahuna's, The Track, grocery stores, restaurants (our at home favorite - Mellow Mushroom - is located next door!)

Things that could be improved:

Deli hours -- provide live music at the beach bar -- wlreless Internet around the pools

We'll be back again!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank flip_flop_traveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2007

[--]

We enjoyed our most recent stay at Pelican Beach even more than the first. The unit was tastefully decorated and spacious. We especially enjoyed the kitchenette which offered a place to cook some meals (great for the vacation budget). The kids enjoyed the indoor/outdoor pool and access to the beach was a breeze.

I worked out in the fitness center every morning and then went for a walk on the beach - you can't beat that start to a day!


  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank handlingthetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2007

Overall the vacation was nice at Pelican Beach until we returned from lunch one day and discovered that our digital camera was missing. It was on the glass dinner table when we left for lunch, but when we returned later that afternoon it was gone. The only thing the front desk would do for us was tell us to contact the sheriff dept. We decided not to since it was the last day of our vacation and we did not want to wait on the sheriff and fill out paperwork. I had left my phone number for the manager to call me, but she failed to return my calls. I had emailed her and she responded with "there are different cleanup crews that clean these rooms out"and she could not help me. After this experience I have learned to keep any valuables locked up.
We also had our neighbors start fussing at 3:30 a.m. a few days earlier. This was our 3rd time to stay at Pelican Beach resort and now I think it was the last.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LGB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
7.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
2.6 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Destin
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
9.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts of Pelican Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts of Pelican Beach

Address: 1002 Highway 98 E, Destin, FL 32541-2992
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range: $223 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resorts of Pelican Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Beach Resort and Conference Center and the Terrace at Pelican Beach are located in the heart of Destin. Pelican Beach Resort includes 340 gulf-front and gulf-view condominium units, 19 floor high-rise with 1 and 2 bedroom units. The Terrace includes 95 units lakefront views with 2 and 3 bedroom condominium units.Guests at either property can use the facilities at both, which include 3 large pools, one kiddie pool, two hot tubs, two fitness centers, two saunas, tennis, and an arcade/game room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Resorts of Pelican Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resorts Of Pelican Beach Hotel Destin
Pelican Beach Resort Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing