We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Resorts of Pelican Beach
Ranked #8 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
West Bloomfield, MI
13
Reviewed June 3, 2005

We took the 2 youngsters and stayed for 4 nights and 5 days at this high rise. The staff was friendly and our room was clean and had an excellent view of the ocean from the 15th floor. There are 4 elevators that serice the 20 stories and the condo complex was very busy when we were there, yet no more than a couple minute wait.

The gift shop is not adequate, however, who cares since there are a million places less than a half mile away to get what you need. The Walmart Superstore was packed- Everybody shops there....that's right, as many Mercedes in the lot as Chevy's.

I think we would stay at this property again if we visit Destin.

Stayed: June 2005
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 450 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2005

This was our first and last trip to Destin. We went before the crowds on 5/22 - 5/26/05 but Pelican Beach pool was already over crowded. The beach front was covered every day with rental umbrellas and chairs (most were empty) that left no place for us to set-up our own chairs or the kids to play. Condo was small and showing age. There was no adequate vanity space for getting dressed. We will stick with Orange Beach from now on.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 587sherylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2005

Entire complex was clean but due to pre-season dates was a little understaffed. Can really imagine this place being very, very crowded during summer months, but the off season this facility is very, very good. Would have been nice to see the beachside bar open, but the weather was perfect and the people very friendly.

I had a wonderful view from the 17th floor, "Pelican" view. I could see the fishing boats miles away and the dolphins right next to the beaches. Restaurants, shopping, and entertainments were all nearby. Traffic was a little congested in the area but I have heard it does get worse.

The water was green and clear. A little wavy most days due to weather conditions.

The unit was a 2-bedroom and was more than expected. Rented from VRBO and got a terrific rate that the owner matched to the currently discounted resport rates. The toddler loved the room and more imporatant, so did my wife. Elevators were convenient to all rooms. I recommend an upper flor room so you can see the views. You can still enjoy the surf even up high.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Moost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Athens, GA.
18
Reviewed February 21, 2005

Our stay at the Pelican Beach Resort in Destin was an awesome vacation for our family. We were excited to find how much there was to do within walking distance and everything you would ever need is within 2-3 miles of the resort. From Big Kahuna's water park to deep sea fishing the options were endless.
The resort is safe, clean and has excellent amenities for the whole family. We stayed in unit#611 an end unit which has a great beach font view as well as a side view that has a fabulous view of the sun setting on the gulf each evening. We were pleasantly surprised to see how spacious the condo was and we cannot wait until next year for another Destin vacation.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Michigan
19
Reviewed February 10, 2005

My wife and I have stayed at the Sundestin Beach Resort and thought we would try a different place to stay. Our stay at the Pelican was for the birds. What we were told about the on site eating facitities was totally different than what was there. The overall staff had a snooty attitude, nothing like the people at Sundestin.

We couldn't wait for the vacation to end and get us out of such a unfriendly place. When coming to Destin, check out the friendly people and bar and grill at Sundestin Beach Resort. A much friendlier and enjoyable place to stay.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2004

We stayed at pelican Beach Resort for Thanksgiving, 2004 and had a wonderful time. The weather was cool, but the view from our 2 BR unit was spectacular. We stayed in #1701 which offered water views from almost every room in the condo. We enjoyed several sunsets from our balcony and then some down on the beach on chairs available in the condo. The location of the resort is great for shopping, restaurants and the new theatre just down the street. I will definitely plan to stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank gagirl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2004

18  Thank BDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
7.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
2.6 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Destin
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
9.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts of Pelican Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts of Pelican Beach

Address: 1002 Highway 98 E, Destin, FL 32541-2992
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range: $223 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resorts of Pelican Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Beach Resort and Conference Center and the Terrace at Pelican Beach are located in the heart of Destin. Pelican Beach Resort includes 340 gulf-front and gulf-view condominium units, 19 floor high-rise with 1 and 2 bedroom units. The Terrace includes 95 units lakefront views with 2 and 3 bedroom condominium units.Guests at either property can use the facilities at both, which include 3 large pools, one kiddie pool, two hot tubs, two fitness centers, two saunas, tennis, and an arcade/game room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Resorts of Pelican Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resorts Of Pelican Beach Hotel Destin
Pelican Beach Resort Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing