We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Destin E - Commons Mall Area
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My husband and I we're originally planning to stay at this hotel. We had rented a condo from VRBO.com, but when we arrived there at 11 o'clock at night and saw how disgusting it was we got back in the car and started looking for hotels. Some people I work with had stayed at this hotel, so we decided to give it a try. By the time we got there it was midnight. The man at the desk was so nice! They only had one room available which was a suite. After he heard our story he let us have the suite for the week for the same price as a normal room. The suite was as big as the condo we had originally rented. All of the staff we encountered, including the manager were super nice and accommodating. We're obviously clean freaks, because we wouldn't stay at the original condo. The room at this hotel was exceptionally clean, and well maintained. I wish the hotel was actually on the beach, but public beach accesses are only a few blocks away. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and would return again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan_Masters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 207 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

We received a free night thanks to our Priority Club Points, otherwise the cost would have been $129 plus tax.
Our room was clean and all the staff were polite and helpful. The hotel is only blocks from the beach and someone told
me the Destin beach was voted one of the top ten beaches. I agree, with its white sand and clear water it is hard to beat.
The morning breakfast has egg and cheeze omelets, sausage and gravy, cereals, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pilgrim45900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Nice and clean. Very quiet, decent suites with living room area. Outback Steakhouse next door.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express in Destin is nice for short stays. It makes no attempt at luxury, but achieves great success at comfort.

You get a clean, comfortable room with either one exceedingly comfortable king or two queen beds, and a sofa-sleeper. The free breakfast includes enough variety and choices that even if you don't care for *everything* on it, you will find several things to enjoy. I say the hotel is fine for "short" stays because the public hallways, lobby, and pool are all just a little on the small side. Your room also includes a microwave and coffee maker, a desk, a stuffed chair, and a coffee table in front of the sofa sleeper. There is a dresser and two nightstands in the king room, and the lighting is adequate. There is a full bath with shower (see Tip #1 at bottom), and wireless internet access is free (see Tip #2 at bottom).

As far as location, it is a very pleasant two block walk to the public access to a world-class beach. Adjacent to the property are shopping centers and dining choices galore, and just across the highway is the mega-outdoor Destin Commons mall. Still, it is a quiet area because it faces the *back* of the two adjacent malls. Noise within the hotel is not a problem either, although I was oddly a bit self-conscious as I pushed the loudly-squeaking luggage cart down the hallway when I arrived late at night; one gentleman opened his door to see what the noise was and I apologized, embarassed.

The front desk, breakfast room staff, and housekeeping are all as courteous and professional as you can possibly imagine - really, they are consistently more so than at most hotels, and commendably so!

The bottom line is that if you are planning on a short stay (4-5 days or less) and your planned activities include spending time at the beach, shopping and dining in Destin, then this is a fine choice.

TIP #1 - To run the shower, you have to pull down on the bathtub spout. It took us a few disbelieving minutes to figure this out; it is by no means intuitive.
TIP #2 - The password for the wireless network expires at mid-day on Fridays, so don't waste your time after that trying to connect with the old password; call the front desk for an update.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StCharlesLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel--last minute stopover on a trip home. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great--plenty of food and choices. The best part was the service. Every staff member was friendly and helpful. Some of the nicest staff I've ever encountered at any hotel. The location was great--a short walk to the most beautiful beach anywhere. The area is quiet--on the edge of residential properties and close to shopping, too. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

No customer service; dirty; out of towels; did not have correct room; staff not concerned; rate different from what quoted; offered no compensation for not having correct room or no towels; would NOT recommend and will NEVER stay again

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhondadeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Destin E - Commons Mall Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Dear Rhondadeca,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Destin (Mid Bay Bridge). It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Friendly staff, decent breakfast, comfortable bed.
Pool was cooler and small but a nice place to take a swim. But the beach about a four minute walk is great. White sand and beautiful gulf water.
Therefore the location of this hotel is great. Near shopping and restaurants as well.
Drove through Fort Walton and much preferred the newer development that is Destin.
Flew in to Pensacola about 1.5 hours drive.
We got a good rate through Hotwire and was therefore satisfied.
Had I paid full price of 159 I would have been disappointed.
The rooms were clean but things such as the hallways, shower curtains, and little things like this are showing wear.
For the right price, this hotel near the beach, serves for a great starting point.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
Thank trip12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Destin
2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
4.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Destin E - Commons Mall Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Destin E - Commons Mall Area

Address: 108 Hutchinson St, Destin, FL 32541-3561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Destin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range: $71 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Destin E - Commons Mall Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Commons Mall Area has been newly renovated in 2013 and is located near the Destin Commons Shopping Center and the sugar white beaches. This Destin hotel offers all the comforts of home as well as the convenience of location. Just a short walk or drive to the beaches, Destin Commons Shopping, Silver Sands Factory Outlet Stores, deep sea fishing, and Destin Golf. Other nearby attractions include: The Track, Big Kahuna s, and Henderson State Park Beach. Whether recharging by the outdoor pool or at the beach the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mid-Bay Bridge is the Destin hotel that will exceed all of your expectations. Each of our rooms and suites are equipped with coffeemakers, irons & ironing boards, hair dryers, and 27' televisions with cable, CNN, ESPN, and HBO. All rooms also contain microwaves and refrigerators.This Destin hotel offers the fast paced traveler a productive haven for work with all the essentials including free wireless Internet hot spot in lobby and high-speed Internet access in all 74 guestrooms; or guests may try our new hot breakfast in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Destin E - Commons Mall Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Destin (Mid Bay Bridge) Hotel Destin
Holiday Inn Destin
Destin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing