We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, don't get room in front of building” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Destin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Destin
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value, don't get room in front of building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

Lots of outside noise if you get a room in the front of the building. Some guy had a motorcycle and left about 2 or 3 times in the middle of the night. Other than that, it was a descent room for what we paid for it. I'd stay again if I had a room on a quieter side of the building.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skibum761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    38
    24
    28
    52
See reviews for
79
42
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Graham, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

I've had many good experiences with Motel 6, but this was not one of them. The room was not particularly clean, the bathroom needed replacing years ago and the toilet seat had so many deep scratches on it that it looked like someone had attacked it with a grinder! There were no towels in the room when we arrived, though the staff were very apologetic and resolved the problem immediately.

The room had a large old television, with a semi functioning remote control, but it was difficult to hear at a reasonable volume level, due to the amount of noise outside ranging from traffic to shouting to the constant thumpy bass of the music from a nearby store. The internet was broken and was to be fixed at some unknown time in the future.

The beds were very comfortable, as they always seem to be in Motel 6, we had constant hot water and the ac worked fine.

Overall the place is looking very tired and needs bringing up to date. I would have no complaints if it were a 30 buck motel, but $70 (inc tax) a night is too much for what you get here. Being the only budget place in the area doesn't mean it should let the generally good Motel 6 standards down due to lack of competition.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unbias_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Destin hotels

Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

Felt like home as the staffs were nice and helpful. The location is very convinient and safe. I took my dog walking mornings and I don't think I need a vehicle. Italian, seafood, chinese, taco, mixed restaurants are so close.
The places are clean. Affordable price and wonderful place to stay. We enjoyed our fishing trip!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boinkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

I cant say many bad things about Motel 6 in Destin it is very close to the Jetties and right in between two dive shops the Motel staff is very professional , friendly and helpful the motel offers a continental breakfast and has wifi however it is not free but is not expensive not the best place to stay in destin but for a budget motel it is not a dump either.
in all Motel 6 a great value for familys on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrogManMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinci, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

I should have known better. Although i've stayed in a few decent Motel 6's, I believe they are designed specifically for one-night accommodations. Anything beyond that and you will certainly begin to understand why the rooms are so cheap. Knowing this, I decided to book a one week stay. I was traveling east to Pensacola from New Orleans and decided to journey to the next few towns before settling on a hotel. Destin is a very quiet town, near the beach with plenty of shops, which is why I chose it. I wasn't able to secure a decent hotel on Priceline and I needed something cheap. I paid a bargain price of $29/nt, as a weekly rate. I believe the average nightly rate is about $50. The front desk staff was decent. Wireless cards are $3 but are only valid for 24-hrs. (Do the math.) The rooms in the front are very noisy due to traffic on US98. The rear isn't much different. It is adjacent to a mechanics shop (machinery) and residential homes (dogs). However, the rooms were clean enough and the hvac unit was comparable quiet. I was able to settle for all of this but what irritated me the most was the housekeeping staff. I did not want to be disturbed and I asked the front desk to notify the staff, as a DO NOT DISTURB sign was not available. The front desk assured my request would be handled. Apparently, it wasn't. Housekeeping startled me on several occasions by BEATING on my door to service my room. Had I wanted the service, I believe it is customary and courteous to lightly tap on the door. I contacted the front desk again and they seemed disinterested in my simple requirements. I'm not an unreasonable person by any means. I thought Destin would be a nice place to relax and gather my thoughts. If you desire to accomplish the same, I suggest spending a few extra bucks and staying at one of the still economical, independent Inns that will appreciate your patronage.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikyMuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2009

i've stayed there several times before. It's about 5 minutes from Okaloosa Island. They have the typical live in manager that alot of Motel 6's have now,and they're really friendly and run a tight ship. I'm from Miami and used to wearing small type swimwear, like gstrings and thongs at the pool. THey were very cool with all of that, as well.... Like i said, a nice little place, to take your dogs and chill.....

Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank destinloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

Although we had made our reservations online, we received another discount when checking in. Our room was clean, attractive, and motel was well maintained. We knew that we were not close to the beach when we made our reservations, but free parking was ample at the beach--no problems getting to the beach that had public shower and restroom facilities. We WERE within walking distance to several restaurants and to the HarborWalk Marina.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtriptakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.7 mi away
Destin Inn & Suites
Destin Inn & Suites
#29 of 39 in Destin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Inn of Destin
Village Inn of Destin
#31 of 39 in Destin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Destin
Days Inn Destin
#38 of 39 in Destin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#18 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#25 of 39 in Destin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Destin

Property: Motel 6 Destin
Address: 405 Highway 98 E #A, Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Destin 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Destin Hotel Destin
Motel Six Destin
Destin Motel Six
Destin Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing