We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but don't look up” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Destin
South Pittsburg
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice room but don't look up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This property is neat looking and the grounds are clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a walkway which is several hundred yards long from the motel to the beach. Our room was on the first floor with a view of a small grassy area that had many many butterflies on it in the mornings. The room is rather large with a nice sitting area and a small countertop with a fridge under it that didn't work too well, a microwave, and a small lavatory sink. The bath was small but functional and clean. The room apparently had been "refreshed" recently as the paint on the walls was clean and fresh looking. The queen beds were comfortable. The carpet seemed clean. BUT, when you looked up at the ceiling things got downright scary/disgusting/thought provoking. How did all those mold patches get their shapes? Some of them looked like spray from a bottle or a glass of liquid just thrown on the ceiling. Mold was growing in spots all over the ceiling and I didn't want to look inside the AC unit. Fortunately, none of us have mold allergies and we just stayed because of the price compared to the many condos available close by. But we won't be back. While there we heard several other parties talking about leaving because of the mold so I'm sure our room (Room 111) was not an exception.

Room Tip: Inspect before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tnsilvertip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post about your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your time at our property and in Destin as there is so many things to do including the beach. We appreciate your comments and will be sure to address your concerns.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    29
    31
    21
    67
See reviews for
64
35
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a bad experience. Checked in at 3pm, got settled in, came and went a couple times. It wasn't until we were about to leave for our anniversary dinner that we realized our door didn't lock. Anyone could open it from the outside without the room key and it had been like this all day! We called the front desk, explained that we had dinner reservations and 15 minutes later the clerk came to check it out. He laughed and acted like he was excited to use a new toy when he hooked a machine up to our door. This really irritated us because we were already running late got our ANNIVERSARY DINNER and he didn't seem to care the least bit. He couldn't get the door to work so I has to follow him to the front desk while my husband packed everything we had up. I got a key to a different room, 40 minutes late for our dinner reservation. We hauled all of our luggage to a different floor just to find out this door would not open. It had the deadbolt on from the inside. Yes, the inside. I was beyond irritated at this point. I went BACK to the front desk and explained to the carefree clerk that we couldn't get into the second room and now we were an hour late for our dinner reservation. He said that he didn't have anymore king size rooms so we checked out and went to dinner without knowing where we were going to stay on our anniversary. Thanks for ruining our night Ramada.
Side notes- The hotel is directly across from Silver Sands so they get a plus for that. But that is the ONLY positive I will give them. There is a balcony but it overlooks other hotels. You cannot see any water although they are close to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerly1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do appreciate your review. I am so very sorry to hear about your stay. We would love the opportunity to host you again and "make good" on your anniversary trip. Please allow us another chance to make your stay fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST PLAINS
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Have to admit, was a good price, but was not the greatest stay. Quickly found out the toilet would not fill back with water after it flushed. Had to use the ice bucket to fill the tank with water EVERY time we used it so that it would flush. I took 2 cold showers. We called the front desk twice on the shower issue and they're reply was "yeah, must be the water heater...the hotel is pretty full..." We weren't very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank ANDREA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senoia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This place could be so much more as it is in a great location. We needed one night before checking into our condo and this was close. The room was spacious but needed a complete overhaul. It appeared unclean but not dirty. I did not see any bugs. The "continental breakfast" was very minimal. I have to say that I slept well and the mattress wasn't bad, actually comfortable enough. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

A quick get away, after doing hard, work. Traveling with 4 lb. dog, needed some one that allowed dogs. Big rooms, had a balcony, clean on inspection. Staff very helpful.
Wanted to be near beach, but on a budget. Great compromise.

Room Tip: If you stay on first floor your view will be a fence. Anything above that views do nice cottages, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cruizerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you are a "back to nature kind of person" than sleeping with roaches at this hotel is for you. The manager is down right rude and would not give us out money back. I feel as though I got hepatitis there. I metaphorically got raped. Ruuuuun!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xhonneybfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We went to this hotel because of the reviews we read on Expedia. Apparently people reviewing there got a very different room than we did.

Basically what others have said is very accurate. The rooms are super old (which is not so much of a problem for the price), but even more dirty than old.

We killed a huge roach the moment we stepped into the bathroom. Then once there, we saw mice feces. The towels look more like kitchen cloths: they have stains in all colors and sizes.

This is simply unsanitary. I wish I would have come here when I booked it. I have no idea what is going on in Expedia, but those reviews are VERY misleading.

Room Tip: Do not stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ligeia_ppgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#17 of 39 in Destin
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites
5.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Days Inn Destin
Days Inn Destin
#36 of 39 in Destin
3.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
8.4 mi away
Destin Inn & Suites
Destin Inn & Suites
#28 of 39 in Destin
3.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
9.1 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#22 of 39 in Destin
3.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 39 Scenic Gulf Dr, Destin, FL 32550-4938 (Formerly Scenic Gulf Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Destin Hotel Destin
Ramada Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing