We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Business and Pleasure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kennett, Missouri
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Business and Pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

First part of the stay was for business. The conference rooms were in a good location, but the round table set-up was unusual, and not ideal if you had to sit facing the speaker and away from the table. If our conference host knew the hotel was undergoing major construction, they didn't pass that on to attendees. More on that later...
The beaches here are always beautiful, and the weather fantastic for this trip. Some smelly sea slugs and seaweed, and occasional jelly fish, brought in by the recent storm, marred the beach only slightly. This hotel sits on the eastern edge of Sandestin, so you can walk forever to the east without encountering many people. Also east on 98 is Baytowne shopping area, with good restaurants (Travinia for Italian), Donut hole with pastries on down 98 about 5 miles with Wal-Mart directly across. Going further east on 30A is a scenic drive to Seagrove, with the BEST restaurants. The hotel has a couple of nice pools, but the jack hammers were relentless, at times dueling jack hammers, for the renovation that was going on. If you require much poolside assistance, it was nonexistent, for most of our stay, but we actually liked that. The Bare Foot poolside bar had great workers, and food was ok. I would NOT suggest getting food to go, as the grouper sandwich was cold, sauce runny, french fries droopy and over salted. The chicken quesadilla and burger earlier in the week served at a table was better.
Back to renovation. The spa has an excellent director and workers (thank you, Lisa), and services are discounted, but the ambiance is definitely effected/limited by the current renovation. I'm anxious to see the new facilities next year with the complimentary pass they gave with this service. That was a nice touch.
The beachview deluxe suite is nice, and could actually sleep several with the additional bunk beds at the entry. The kitchenette area is well equipped with mini fridge & microwave, and Brittney in housekeeping was always helpful. We were facing away from the jack hammers, and away from elevator traffic, so a nice quiet area. We got lucky.
The restaurant, Seagar's in the hotel is convenient with extensive wine list, even though our first choice wasn't available.. Pass on lobster ravioli, steak was good but undercooked. Caesar salad and bananas foster, both very good, are made at the table and designed for 2, as was the huge twice-baked delicious potato. After dinner drinks very good, and live piano. Upper price range, but worth a visit.
Ready to return next year to this area! (After the renovation!)

Room Tip: Stay away from pool view until renovation is over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank v s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBGeneralManager, General Manager at Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear VS,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed compliments and constructive suggestions. I will be certain to share your Trip Advisor blog with our team here at the Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa.

Please know that Exciting preparations are underway for next year’s 30th anniversary at the Hilton Sandestin Beach! Which began on October 1, 2013, a unique transformation initiative will bring sweeping upgrades to the resort and offer further enhancements. In March 2014, Hilton Sandestin Beach will debut fully refurbished Spa Tower guest rooms, a redesigned indoor pool and a dramatically enriched main lobby and arrival experience for our guests.

The resort will also unveil new and upgraded designs for the Sandcastles Restaurant and Lounge, Hadashi Sushi Bar and Serenity by the sea Spa.

GARY BRIELMAYER I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    676
    283
    178
    114
See reviews for
830
592
36
468
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This time the hotel was doing MAJOR CONSTUCTION!! Nothing like a relaxing massage with jack hammers echoing through the building. Hopefully next year will be a better review. Staff & other facilities were very good!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBGeneralManager, General Manager at Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

We do apologize about the noise levels you encountered during your massage. Rest assured that the noisy portion of our transformation is nearing a end.

We are well underway for next year’s 30th anniversary at the Hilton Sandestin Beach! Our Plans include refurbishment of all 200 Spa Tower guest rooms, main lobby, Sandcastles and Hadashi restaurants plus Serenity by the sea Spa which concludes by March 2014.


GARY BRIELMAYER I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Been here several times, mainly for business meetings.

NOTE: Right now, the lobby area and pert of the outside area near the pool is closed off due to a major renovation. Although this is an inconvenience, including a lot of concrete removal noise outside, this is temporary and will be very nice when completed. Just be aware that this is going on as of the date of my review.

The rooms are very bright and airy, and clean, with a beach feel. They are also large, including two small bunk beds near the entrance (see picture). The extra sink and counter outside of the main bathroom is a nice feature, allowing more than one person to get ready at the same time. The bed was comfortable as well. Glad to see that they keep the decor pretty updated.

They do charge for internet, unless you're a Hilton Gold member, which is a major complaint of mine. In my opinion, this is such an antiquated approach to internet service, and should be reviewed. I think it only ticks people off and leaves a bad impression about this chain. Makes NO sense to me. Just increase the room price by a few bucks and be done with it!

The meeting rooms were nice and kept well-stocked with drinks, etc. The breakfast provided for the meeting was just average. Not impressive.

For business or for pleasure, this is a very nice place to stay, and right on the beach.

Room Tip: Request a room away from renovation noise at this time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordOfTheRooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Wonderful location with great views from every room. Clean and quiet. Lots of families with well behaved children. Pleasant for kids and parents. Rooms OK. Pool bar food was good and reasonable priced. Seagers was food was excellent though expensive -- atmosphere a little stuffy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DisappointedLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We did not have reservations as we were on our way home after my wife's mother's funeral. The front desk personnel made us feel most welcome. They were able to get us a room for two nights. The hotel was renovating one third of it rooms so rooms were scarce. We enjoyed our stay as were able to relax on the beach as well as the pool. Our room and all facilities were clean and again, the staff was most friendly. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff. Very comfortable room. It was perfect. The Spa was my favorite part! Fantastic experience! Great location, very close to the outlet mall, P.F. Chang's restaurant and the grocery store.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have a better view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NATASCHA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is expensive and private, but it is worth the price. 2 great pools and the beach is only steps away. The Hotel "beach boy" will set you up on the beach for a price. Beware, the ocean is COLD until May.
The location is the the real draw. The Destin area is over forty miles long with a different beach or attaction every mile. The Hilton's location makes it easy to motor to your favorite local stop.
The Sandestin complex includes golf, marina and Bay Town. Bay Town is the place for shopping, dining and "locals nightlife". There is a shuttel from the Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JC_in_Tulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 4000 Sandestin Blvd S, Destin, FL 32550-4279
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Destin
#1 Green Hotel in Destin
#1 Spa Hotel in Destin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#4 Business Hotel in Destin
#8 Family Hotel in Destin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa offers guests beachfront paradise with six restaurants, three bars, three pools, two whirlpools, four championship golf courses and Serenity by the Sea Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Hotel Destin
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel Destin
Hilton Destin
Hilton Sandestin Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Hilton
Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa
Destin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing