We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice beach resort in an area full of condos” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice beach resort in an area full of condos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This Hilton is one of the few resorts in the Destin area that is truly a resort. The rooms very comfortable, clean, and decently appointed. The spa was quite nice (I had one of the best manicures ever) and the pool area is big and full of lounge chairs with nice beach viewing decks for those who want to look at the white sand but not get sandy. The grounds of the hotel are pretty as well with lots of fragrant honeysuckle meandering throughout.

We only ate at the poolside grille for lunch one day but the food was good. We did not try any of the other restaurants. There are good breakfast places very nearby so we opted for the Donut Hole one day and Another Broken Egg the other day. Both were quite good and I'm glad we made that choice.

The service was good with the exception of the valet folks - we had a couple of encounters with them that were slightly off and it wasn't just one person. It was like they weren't terribly excited to help you which made us not terribly excited to tip them. Regardless, a minor issue overall.

Overall, if I return to the Destin area I would definitely stay here again, especially given most of the places available are beach houses or condos or more economic accommodations like a Courtyard or Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwic01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    670
    281
    178
    114
See reviews for
817
583
35
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Great weekend, despite the few points missed. Check in was interesting. I asked for a high floor room for some quiet and rest and was put on 3 directly above the pool, ironic? The pool bar is great, but it would be nice if servers would walk around and take drink orders (probably would have had a bigger bar tab). Spent rainy Saturday at the spa, which is nice and was told a much needed upgrade is coming (looking forward to returning to check it out). While relaxing in the spa I read a local magazine article about Seagars. Recently remodeled and just superb. I was so excited about going, but boy did I set my expectations too high. The service was quite possibly the worst service I have ever received. I eat out 3-4 days a week at very upscale restaurants and always get great service. I sat at the bar to listen to the stellar piano player and when I asked the bartender for a suggestion between 2 fish dishes and he responded "either are good". So rudely that several people at the bar commented on it. I then asked for a wine recommendation and he just handed me an iPad and said look thru there. Never have I paid over $200 for a meal and came to the conclusion that it was mediocre and I couldn't enjoy the good food because the service was so bad. Having had enough I went upstairs to the lounge and Mary the bartender was awesome. She totally made up for her coworker and had the entire bar area enjoying themselves. I will return because its a great location and a great property, but I will learn to lower my expectations I guess.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBGeneralManager, Manager of Hotel Operations at Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa! I have to say that I am very surprised at the service that you experienced at Seagar’s! We certainly take great pride in the service that we provide our guests especially at our four diamond rated restaurant Seagar’s. I’m disappointed that we did not live up to our standards during your visit. I have already discussed this feedback with our department heads so that we learn from our mistakes and ensure that we do not repeat the same ones in the future. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and plan to stay with us in the future. Thanks again for your feedback and we will look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,
JACKSON CHERRY I Manager of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Beach, Sand, Pool, and Sun. Pool side bar, pool chairs, and tropical breeze. Pull up to an exclusive community with a top rated beach what can go wrong? Yes...top dollar hotel overpriced food and drink but would you rather spend it while wearing Mickey ears? Not me

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TallyhoMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
172 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to this hotel. Our ocean view room was beautiful. Nothing like opening the curtains first thing in the morning and seeing the ocean. Everything was nice from check in, breakfast and the hot tub. We enjoyed taking the shuttle over to Baytown Wharf for dinner. It was a cooler rainy weekend so it was not as busy as usual. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrie3566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited the Hilton at the end of April and seemed to be a quiet time all in all. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, friendly and efficient at check in, with even giving us an upgrade! We are Hilton Gold members - so it was nice to receive those perks!

Room was nice and spacious; surprised to have a nice sized refrigerator and microwave; two separate sink areas in the bath is always a bonus. Balcony and view were beyong amazing.

The beach area is beautiful -- there is nothing else to say about that! Yes, the chair and umbrella rentals are expensive, but it's good to stop and pick up some chairs and pass them along to someone else as you're leaving. It all works out.

The pools were very nice -- no problems with chairs, but again, it was a quiet time of year I believe.

Food: the only time we ate at the hotel was the breakfast. The regular continental breakfast is truly enough for a normal day and we did upgrade to the full blown buffet one day which was very good also. So much food! We liked visiting other areas for meals, to see what out there and see some local places, so I don't have much to say about any of the restaurants at the hotel.

Bike rentals: There are bike rentals right at the property through an outside company. Take a few hours and ride around the entire complex -- which is much bigger than you realize! Very nice.

All in all - we enjoyed this hotel for a long weekend getaway. We arrived on Saturday and it was pretty full, but then emptied out after that!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PB6751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was a great hotel choice for a party! It's directly on the beach, has a theater room, plus transportation to Baytowne Wharf. The kids were able to swim at the hotel, go out to eat and see a show in Baytowne and come back for a movie in the theater room. Of course, there was the sleep over too!

I'm glad we chose this venue! Everyone had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSmith9_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe,LA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We recently stayed for 9 days and when we requested a room with a better view on a higher floor they could not accommodate our request even though 400 guests had checked out and we were already staying as a guest. We were in 1 room overlooking the pool with noisy machinery marring the view, then another room right behind the elevator with constant noise. I am not sure where the problem was, the staff or the computer system.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Madura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBGeneralManager, General Manager at Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Madura R,

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to accommodate your room request while staying with us at the Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa.

Please know that we make every attempt to accommodate all of our guest’s room requests. Unfortunately, at times and due to numerous factors involved we are not able to meet all of those requests.

If we have the opportunity to host you again in the near future please feel free to contact me personally and I will be more than happy to make every effort possible to make your stay a more memorable experience.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope we have the opportunity to host you again on your next travels.

GARY BRIELMAYER I General Manager

HILTON SANDESTIN BEACH GOLF RESORT & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
2.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
7.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 4000 Sandestin Blvd S, Destin, FL 32550-4279
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Destin
#1 Spa Hotel in Destin
#1 Green Hotel in Destin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#4 Business Hotel in Destin
#8 Family Hotel in Destin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa offers guests beachfront paradise with six restaurants, three bars, three pools, two whirlpools, four championship golf courses and Serenity by the Sea Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort And Spa
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Hotel Destin
Hilton Hotel Destin
Hilton Destin
Hilton Sandestin Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Hilton
Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa
Destin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing