We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with hilton bureaucracy and rules.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with hilton bureaucracy and rules.”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Before you read my review, I have a guide to which rooms you want:
Get a jr. Suite which is in the emerald tower. The other tower is nasty. DO NOT get a room on these floors: 2,3,5,9,14,15 because these floors have concrete blocks for railing which obstructs your views and means the balcony is dirtier. Also do not get a room with the number being 0-16 because they have a beach view which sounds good but it is not a good view, has smaller balconies, and a not as well layed out room. Also dont get a room with numbers 25-27 because they have a parking lot view.
The property is very well decorated, so why did I give it such a low rating. Here is my system:
Design and clenliness may recieve up to one star, and I gave them the star.
Location may recieve up to one star, and they got it. It is in an absoulutley wounderful location.
Value of on-property amenities up to one star. They failed here, there are pleanty of resteraunts etc. but, say you want a pot of coffee in the morning. It will cost you $30! When we decided to get some ice cream, it really wasnt very good.
Service up to two stars. The on-site service is pretty good, with the exception of the front desk. When I was sitting in the lobby to avoid a twelve dollar wifi charge (not uncomon) I watched so many people walk up to that desk excited, and leave very mad. Here's our example. We were going on a trip and we decided to contact the hotel to guarantee us a pool view room without a wind block. We had been using points to cover the trip tokeep costs down, when they told us that we had to pay $15 more a night to get a certain view. We gladly paid it knowing our past experiences here. When we got there, the people at the front desk indicated we had a pool view, and it isnt easy to tell what rooms are what because they don't just do evens on one side and odds on the other. They made us sign for the room until they told us our room number. 1411. Problem one, 14 has wind blocks and problem two, we requested a lower floor, but at least we had a pool view right? Wrong! We get up there only to find out that it was the wrong view. So ok, we can call the front desk to fix this. After explaining to them that this is why we are gold Marriott and silver Hilton, they finally aggreed to move us the next day. Lovely, we get to cut our relax time down only to add more stress time. But whatever. They said that they would call us as soon as it was ready. Ok thats fine. The maid ends up telling us that our room has been ready. So we go down to the front desk only to get no sir we can't verify that. So while we are stuck downstairs, mom is upstairs, all by herself, moving bags to this room with no keys to either one. Thank you to the maids for letting her in. So we decide to get some starbucks coffee. It was a joke! One inexperienced lady making the coffee and running the shop all by herself with a huge line. So forget that. Finally we get our room.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    741
    310
    193
    129
See reviews for
955
653
42
547
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over Easter weekend. Love the hotel. We were on this trip for a long weekend getaway without kids. Although there were families everywhere, we still felt like it was a good "couples" trip.
We will return next time with kids in tow. Lots to do.
The only downside is the price. But hey, it's Sandestin and you generally get what you pay for.
The staff was super friendly. Our bartenders, Mary and Derrick were awesome!
Can't wait to return in June!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I have never ever written a review for anything. But just returned from here and want to ensure a tone considering this hotel to look no further. This place has it all. Location and amenities are perfect !! Rooms are beautiful !! Views awesome !! Everyone but one staff member was extremely nice !! They only small blemish was at the initial check in we arrived much earlier then expected 6:30am after and 15hr drive. And went to check in or at least let them know we arrived. I spoke with Tina ( i think that was her name) at the desk. I felt she as unhelpful as possible. An question i had she would not provide me with a straight answer (very frustrating after driving all night and excited to finally arrive ) for example was asking about views and she was very coy and condescending. Couldn't provide even an opinion what would be a nice view/room. Finally she said come back at 8am and speak to another front desk person. I did and they were awesome !! Super super nice !!! Thank you Hilton for an incredible week and many memories with my family !! We most certainly will be back as soon as possible !!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigfin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Love the beachfront location. While this week has been on the cooler side, it's a place we would come back to. So much to do in Destin. However, do not expect good service at this hotel. Had to hail a bellboy when we arrived (even when standing outside our car - almost like they didn't "see" us), took our waitress 17 minutes to bring menus, waited for 30 minutes for kids food order (on multiple occasions), unhappy waitresses seem overworked, pool store girls seemed pissed to be here, sushi bar was delish, but the old grumpy man seemed bothered we wanted to order something, coffee shop service was fast some days (with 4 staff), but terrible the next (with 2 staff)...I could go on, but maybe the owner's should do an undercover boss show here. So much to improve on the service side to make this a greater experience. But overall, a terrific place for a family vacation and lots of friendly vacationers.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmbanks70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying at the Hilton here in Sandestin. We absolutely love their rooms. We have a 12 year old boy and 19 year old girl, and the bunk beds with the tv are wonderful. The views from our room were fantastic! The poolside view has ocean view as well. I love being able to see everyone having fun below when I'm up on the balcony. Be prepared to spend a lot of money if you are not prepared with your own necessities, i.e. water, sunblock, chairs, toys. They will squeeze every penny out of you. There are local beverage and discount stores to help ease that pain.
I really enjoyed staying at this hotel, both times, and highly recommend. It has 5-star ammenities. Three pools (one of which is indoor), spa, outdoor bar/food area, beautiful waterfront beach and bike rentals nearby to explore the lovely grounds.
A five minute walk going east on the beach will place you at a very tranquil state park beach. You will have a great time at this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, IL
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We just spent 6 - nights at this property from 3/17/13 to 3/23/13. We booked the "March into Spring Package" through the hotel. (They offer a variety of packages throughout the year). Our package included beach-view accommodations, daily beach set-up with 1 - umbrella & 2 - chairs ($40 value), daily breakfast buffet for 2 - adults, (plus we are Hilton Honors Gold & also, received 2 - daily continental breakfasts). The package also included a $30 Food & Beverage credit. We stayed in junior suite #1221 with a view of the pools & beach. The grandkids loved sleeping on the bunk beds in the alcove. We appreciate the extra sink, the microwave & refrigerator that this suite offers. This resort has plenty of bars & restaurants; Sandcastles, (where we enjoyed our daily breakfast) Hadashi Sushi Bar, The Sand Bar (at the beach), The Coffee Shop, Picnix Poolside Market (with Pizza Hut & Edy's Ice Cream & other items), Barefoot's Beachside Bar & Grill, room service & a high-rated restaurant Seagar's. They have a great gift shop. It was a bit cool the week we were there, so the outdoor pools were rarely used. I wish they had been heated, because we typically spend our entire day in their outdoor pools. We did not visit their indoor pool or the Serenity by the Sea Spa on this trip. We love the location of this resort in a gated community. It is close to the Silver Sands outlet mall & many great restaurants. We plan to return to this property again.

Room Tip: Junior suites with the bunk beds are great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradnCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great place to stay awesome facilities and had a problem with bathroom called and was fixed quickly in middle of night highly recomend was cold but no problems great indoor pool location is beautiful wish we could live here everybody was just awesome

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bamasnowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
6.3 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
7.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 4000 Sandestin Blvd S, Destin, FL 32550-4279
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Destin
#1 Green Hotel in Destin
#2 Spa Hotel in Destin
#4 Business Hotel in Destin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#8 Family Hotel in Destin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa offers guests beachfront paradise with six restaurants, three bars, three pools, two whirlpools, four championship golf courses and Serenity by the Sea Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Hotel Destin
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel Destin
Hilton Destin
Hilton Sandestin Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Hilton
Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa
Destin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing