We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful place.....terrible service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful place.....terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

A company I work for recently hosted 150-200 Realtors at a Xmas themed function. With the weekend being the SEC championship game we congregated around the bar several hours prior to the event. The bar staff was rude, less than interested in customer service, and extremely short. The best experience of our one night stay was Sonya Wooddell who waited on my husband and I at the breakfast Buffet on the day of our departure.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Karissa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    679
    285
    178
    115
See reviews for
832
600
37
478
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very clean updated rooms. Seems like every room has a great view of the gulf which is gorgeous! Tempting variety of pools & hot tubs. Fitness center is impressive & located in another building along with the spa. Several restaurants to choose from. Nice variety for breakfast. Easy to catch the shuttle to shopping & restaurants.

Room Tip: Keep in mind view for the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donatella-Bingbong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opp, Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the Sandestin Hilton last weekend and had a great experience. I have always thought the fall and winter were great times to visit the beach because of less crowds, less expense and better views. This hotel has clean, large rooms and many amenities to keep you busy in the off-season. The price is reasonable and the staff has time to be extra helpful. The weather was great for walking on the beach, the views (with dolphins swimming by) superb, and everyone is so much more friendly when not so busy. The hotel even has an indoor heated pool and hot tub if you so desire. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: First floor rooms with a beach view are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyHarold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a Thanksgiving getaway within driving distance of Baton Rouge and we chose the Hilton Sandestin, which was about a 5 1/2 hour drive.

The hotel staff bent over backwards to make sure our every need was met. The 2 pools are awesome and we never had a problem finding a perfect spot. Even at the end of November, it was still 75 degrees and sunny. The beach was very clean and beautiful and accessible....just a 5 minute walk from the hotel lobby.

The hotel itself and rooms were spotless.

There is a Sushi Chef on staff and I ate Spicy Tuna Roll's every day (very reasonably priced, too, just $10.). For TG dinner, they put on a full Thanksgiving feast which was amazing.

We did the breakfast buffet every morning, which was also amazing, I ate a ton of bacon, and they will make you fresh omelet's to order.

The only complaint I have was slow bar service. On day #1, there was only one bar open and only one bartender to service the entire hotel. Michelle seemed to wait on customers who were right in front of her rather than paying attention to who was there 1st, resulting in 20-minute waits for poolside cocktails. On day #2 they opened the outside bar as well, but single-bartender staffing for 10 guests at any given moment was pretty slow, too.

All-in-all, it was an amazing experience and we will definitely be back. I highly recommend it. 1st class treatment at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The photo is a view from our room. Third floor, room #332.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BatonRougeLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBGeneralManager, General Manager at Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Baton Rouge Living,

I am delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hilton Sandestin Beach over the Thanksgiving holiday. Fortunately the weather also assisted with warm and clear skies during that weekend.

I do want to apologize for the slow service you experienced at our outside bar. We are typically closed in November outside but due to the nice weather we decide to open at the request of several guests. We did not anticipate the high demand we experienced. We will correct our short comings next year.

We hope you have a wonderful holiday season and have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

GARY BRIELMAYER I General Manager
HILTON SANDESTIN BEACH GOLF RESORT & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very nice hotel with a nice atmosphere and clean rooms. Perfect beach and whoever likes to play golf - this is your place.There is also a nice mall round the corner.
Would return there for a longer stay.

Room Tip: sea side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moritz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christ Church, Barbados
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Sandestin Hilton is always a great time... the hotel shows a little bit of age around the edges, as so many of the big old hotels on Florida beaches do -- but don't let that deter you. It's got everything you need on-site, and feels homey & broken-in like a great pair of slilppers. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BajanCajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBGeneralManager, General Manager at Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear BajanCajun,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your comments with us at the Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We pride ourselves on the excellent service and amenities we offer over the past 26 years we have been in operation. This being said, you will be pleased to know that over the next two years, including this winter we are renovating multiple areas of our property in order to continue being the leading and only full service Beach Resort on the Panhandle of Florida.

Once again, thank you for sharing your insight with us here at the Hilton Sandestin. We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again in the near future. Until than I hope you have a happy holiday season.

GARY BRIELMAYER I General Manager

HILTON SANDESTIN BEACH GOLF RESORT & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Right on the beach with great food options and service. Very pricey but you get what you pay for and then some. I will come back any time the family wants to go to Florida Don't expect big waves but plenty to do with indoor outdoor pools hot tub full service bars and restaurants.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Blancoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
0.0 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 4000 Sandestin Blvd S, Destin, FL 32550-4279
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Destin
#1 Green Hotel in Destin
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Destin
#4 Business Hotel in Destin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#8 Family Hotel in Destin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa offers guests beachfront paradise with six restaurants, three bars, three pools, two whirlpools, four championship golf courses and Serenity by the Sea Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Hotel Destin
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel Destin
Hilton Destin
Hilton Sandestin Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Hilton
Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa
Destin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing