We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lunch”

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Ranked #79 of 308 Restaurants in Destin
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

1st time in 15 years we stopped by Bubba Gumps. Tried it in Hawaii on our honeymoon. Today was nice - restaurant was not busy. We tried the seafood hush-puppies as an appetizer, they were different and quite good. My southern fried shrimp lunch special was served with fries and slaw and almost too many shrimp to eat. Flavor was nicely spiced. My wife's shrimp po boy was enormous and the shrimp were coated differently, but also very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank s c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    186
    161
    81
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
524 reviews
338 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
“Slow but good”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Food was great but it took awhile. Bubba's kitchen and server needs to RUN alot faster. They have a military discount, 10%, but they didn't tell us till after the bill was payed too late to give it to us. Not very nice!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Do these people work on commission?”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The food was really good. Staff was very friendly yet everyone of them had to bring up purchasing a Landry's card. We thought about returning during our stay in Destin yet didn't want to deal with the pressure talk.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns cr
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bad, Bad, Bad...”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had to eat in a hurry, they are close to the airport and I figured this chain restaurant could get food out that was quick and eatable. Shrimp Poboy came out with popcorn shrimp, sent it back, they it came out with undercooked shrimp, sent it back. They took it off the bill, but I can't understand how they stay in business when they couldn't get a simple shrimp Poboy right.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bubba Gump was Excellent”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We actually ate at this restaurant twice because they had a fish dish that was one of the best I have ever had. The item was Jenny's Catch with Lobster Butter Sauce. I actually ordered it both times. Great Both times. The fried items on the menu which my son tried were good (not great), but he switched to the Jenny's Catch the next time. My husband tried the Chipolte Crusted Tilapia which was also very good. The Bubba's Far Out Dip was excellent as well but the Shrimp Mac & Cheese was kind of lack luster. We also had great service both times.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoustonTexasMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. also viewed

 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing