We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brush up on your Forest Gump trivia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Ranked #76 of 301 Restaurants in Destin
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
British Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brush up on your Forest Gump trivia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

It was a fun lunch - we were quizzed on Forest Gump trivia and were rewarded with free salt and pepper for our amazing knowledge!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank addysett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    166
    147
    71
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Better places to get FRESH shrimp in Destin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I had been wanting to try one of these places since seeing a location in Gatlinburg, TN. We should have passed it by. All the effort stopped at the outside. They could have taken the name and glorified all the ways to cook shrimp to perfection. Instead, they focused on the movie with screen shots from the movie and quotes all over the building. I guess that's cute but the food could have matched. I got a margarita that was very small and overpriced. My hubby and son ordered the shrimp gumbo, which we've eaten better in St. Louis. This is pretty sad for a place that is themed on Louisiana fare. I ordered the "Shrimp Heaven", and 2 of the cups they stuff with cabbage before putting the shrimp on top so it looks like you're getting more. I thought 19.99 for this was a major ripoff. I could have gotten more shrimp at Red Lobster. My hubby was so unsatisfied that he went to Whataburger nearby afterword. No appetizer and it was $80 for all of us. Worst of all, I don't think they are buying the local shrimp, which seems a crime in Destin. I would steer away from this place and head for local eatery.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank despedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun Place, Food was just O.K.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Very fun "Forrest Gump" atmosphere with movie memorbilia wall to wall. The gift shop was a nice touch. The food was average (below average by some Gulf coast standards) but priced within the "tourist" budget.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank djken49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
Level Contributor
270 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice steamed shrimp in a bucket”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Lunch time snack with pre-schoolers. Clean resteraunt. Atmosphere was very quiet so it was a little dull. Fair service.
Nice shrimp.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank triotrois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Too many other great places that are a better choice than here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The food here was hit and miss in our group, but all the prices were expensive. Expect to pay $18-$20 for a plate without a drink. The fish sandwich was very good, but the gumbo was bland and luke warm. Friendly staff, but the food was just not up to the quality we have found at other Bubba Gumps. There many other better choices in the same area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RamblinDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. also viewed

 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing