We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overall great place”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for an extended weekend. Overall was a very nice hotel.
The only issue I really had was they failed to change the beach warning flags. They were on 'yellow' the entire visit no matter calm or rough seas. Learned there is an app for beach warnings and our 'yellow' was really a 'red' day. Use your brain and smartphone as they don't change flags.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tstefani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesDestin, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I apologize for the "flag" issues. We abide by the Walton County Beach service and post our flags accordingly. With the weather changing so much lately, it is possible that the flags changed throughout the day. I appreciate you pointing this out to us, I will make sure that my staff stays on top of this, especially during rainy, windy days. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    413
    141
    57
    35
See reviews for
615
420
27
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arab, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Walking distance to Outlet Malls, beach across the street. Great restaurants in walking range. All around great location. Breakfast and evening open bar a bonus. Ocean and beach are beautiful. The perfect location for business or family adventures. Will come again because the staff was especially helpful - we called for an early check-in and they accomodated us...thanks for the renovation of the rooms - very first rate

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesDestin, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to hear you found the hotel and staff to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We got confused on when we were supposed to arrive at the hotel. When I called the next day and found out we were supposed to be there a day earlier and that our entire reservation had been canceled and we were charged as a no show it was a sad feeling. It would have been great if they had given us a call on the cell phone. But that didn't happen.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank LATRELLE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesDestin, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your remarks on Trip Advisor. Reservation Confirmations are sent out as soon as the reservations are made. We apologize for any confusion this may have caused you. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We checked in very late the night of our arrival and the desk staff did everything they could to get us checked in and to our room as quickly as possible.

The best experience was their front desk person, Amanda. She was amazing. It seemed that no matter where we wanted to go (food, shopping, attractions) she not only knew the places to go, but wrote down the directions! We learned of a little place to eat where the locals eat. We were told a place to park to avoid having to drive around and around in the "public" parking area.

I would definitely come back to this hotel and would love to do so if I knew that Amanda was working! Worth her weight in gold!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesDestin, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are all so excited that you enjoyed your stay. Amanda along with the rest of my staff are GREAT and I will certainly pass on your comments to Amanda. They all work so hard to make sure every stay is a great stay for our guests. We look forward to your return visit. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed at the Embassy Suites Destin - Miramar Beach for two nights during a small convention that was hosted at the property. We were generally pleased with our stay, but the hotel’s website is a bit misleading regarding the location of the property in relation to the beach. When referencing that guests will “enjoy sweeping panoramic views of sugar white sand and turquoise water” or “our tropical-themed hotel offers private beach access and board walk for our guests to enjoy”, it is easy to be given the impression that the hotel is directly on the water. There are no “sweeping panoramic views” from anywhere in the hotel itself. The website is somewhat misleadingly referencing the general area. We actually asked to be moved from the second floor to the fourth floor so that we could at least see the water … across the road, with power lines and a construction site for a new restaurant in between. The beach access involves crossing the road and walking down a path alongside that construction site. The beach itself is quite nice; however, be prepared to pay $25.00 per day for a chair and umbrella rental.

The website also says that the hotel has been completely renovated, with a completion date in April. The text has been revised now to indicate an anticipated completion date in mid to late Spring. When we checked in to our room, maintenance was installing a new door locking mechanism and key card control. Not a problem. The tub in the bathroom (see my photos) was in a state of disrepair, with a large hole at the base and an accumulation of rust, along with grout that needed to be replaced. The tub needs to be repaired or replaced. Other minor complaints are hard furniture in the living area, which seems to have been selected to be indestructible rather than comfortable. Another reviewer mentioned mystery water puddles that appeared on the floor between the bedroom and living area. We had that, too. No idea what causes that. Finally, I have no idea who designed (or selected) the hard, square-corned sink plumbing fixtures. If you enjoy bumping your head into the faucet, you will love those fixtures!

Outside of the hotel, there is a small swimming pool and spa that were not very appealing. The pool was closed on the day when we checked out, with the deck being refinished with a urethane-based paint that smelled like the toluene in model airplane cement. The windows in the front of the hotel were pretty filthy. The day of our arrival, an employee seemed to be attempting to clean those windows but was apparently totally clueless with respect to the basic skills of window washing. Plants in the planters were looking sad and crying out for water, and smokers love to congregate in the chairs out front, making it impossible to avoid their second-hand smoke.

Okay, I have gotten the negatives out of the way. There are positives. Each staff member with whom we interacted was very polite, accommodating, and professional. The atrium in the hotel is very attractively landscaped. The complimentary breakfasts are some of the best in the hotel industry, and the free wi-fi worked fine. The bedding was very comfortable, the HVAC worked efficiently and quietly, and there was a ceiling fan in the bedroom.

Other than the beach, there is not much within walking distance, so you must plan on driving your car to go just about anywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside suite, preferably on the fourth floor (the top floor) and facing the water. Lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_01039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesDestin, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your patience during our room renovations and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapmansboro, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Enjoyed the stay, can count on dependable service and good quality. Despite the flooding that occurred during the week. Staff were very accommodating and willing to assist, given their limited resources.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesDestin, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you so much and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Upon return at 10:15pm, with no prior warning, I was told to vacate the following day by noon for planned room repairs and there was no room to move into until 4pm that day. I vacated... permanently. Inappropriate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Ottis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesDestin, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We apologize that our room renovations created an inconvenience for you. We have completed the renovations and would like to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
2.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
4.4 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
5.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Destin
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Address: 570 Scenic Gulf Dr., Destin, FL 32550-4014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Destin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#5 Business Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Destin - Miramar Beach is an all-suite hotel featuring amenities designed to pamper our guests: We are across the street from the gorgeous Gulf of Mexico with a private beach access, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast daily, complimentary Evening Reception nightly, Complimentary wired and wireless internet. Check in 4pm / Check out is 11am. Age Restrictions 25 to checkin. We are across the street from our lovely beach. 100 yards from our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Destin - Miramar Beach Hotel Destin
Destin Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing