We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Pretty nice place”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had just stayed here the past week and had a pretty good experience. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. The free breakfast had varieties to choose. The coffee (Douwe Egbert) served at breakfast was very good. Our room was not luxurious but not bad either. I picked this one due to the proximity to the beach (clear without seaweeds) which is across the street...about a 4-5 min. walk. The location is very close to lots of shops including a Winn-Dixie (2 min drive) and a very nice Publix (5 min drive) away. The only complaint is the older bar tender who does not seem very happy with his job and maybe he did not like the "Life is Good t-shirts" I was wearing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restednomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    398
    134
    56
    32
See reviews for
571
407
27
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel more than once and keep returning. A short walk to the beach through a private entrance. The suites are a very nice size. Love the location and the staff are friendly! Complimentary breakfast is great. Great choice!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenbgrl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrior, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Hotel gave another guest keys to our room because they had checked us into one room and given us keys to another. They didn’t seem to understand why that was a big deal. If I hadn’t been in the room they would have had full access to all our belongings. There was one server for the dining room and room service. The one night we ate there it took 15 minutes to get menus and we had to ask for our drinks again once the food arrived. My husband’s steak was undercooked and my food was cold. We never got drink refills or were asked if we needed anything else. The check was dropped off without a word. The bed in room 340 is horrible. Any time you move every spring in the mattress creaks. I had to use my own baby wipes to wipe down tables in the dining area every time we went there. Breakfast is greasy. Even if you get an omelet it is cooked in lots of oil. Be prepared to get creative when it comes to hanging wet clothes and towels in the room. There are no outside balconies at this hotel and they don’t provide a towel rack to hang stuff on. I had to drape things over chairs and door handles all over the room. It is a pretty long walk to the beach so bring a beach cart to carry all your stuff with you.

Room Tip: Don’t pay the extra money for the celebration suite. The only difference is you get a chair in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

I love this place! One step to the beach was broken...no big deal! The staff was great especially the 2 different bar tenders, the breakfast cook and the head maintenance guy. Thank you for our second year in a row stay! I would love to bring my family back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We just returned from a two night stay at this hotel, and I would say that overall it was just fine, but not more than that.

It's important to note that all of the properties in Destin seem to have this attitude of "we have the ocean, so we can take advantage of people," and this Embassy Suites, unfortunately, seems to be in that same group.

The location is really great if you're visiting Destin for the beach. It is literally across the beach, perhaps 1/4 mile from the front door of the hotel until you're in the water. It is not specifically a private beach, but access is through a coded gate and the vast majority of people on the beach were Embassy Suites guests. A seperate company handles the beach chairs and umbrellas, which can be charged to your room. August seems to be a good time to visit Destin, since lots of schools are back in the session, and the hellish traffic that characterizes Destin is much better. Even in summer, though, the proximity of this hotel to the beach is really stellar for the Destin area. It's important for travelers with children to consider, though, that this hotel is definitely not in Destin, so if you're looking for lots of restaurants and activities for the kids, you're sort of lacking. If you're looking for the beach, though, this is great.

LOUD is the operative word in this hotel. The structure is the same as most Embassy Suites properties, so acoustics can be an issue. Since the Destin area is swarming with children, the atrium of the hotel always sounds like a school playground. The swimming pool at the hotel (which is miniscule and in the middle of the parking lot, basically) is also crawling with screaming kids.

The rooms are just fine, perhaps dated, but clean and very serviceable. From a housekeeping point, it's clear that they have calcium issues with the water. There is a definite film on the bathroom tiles, in the coffee maker, etc. Not the end of the world in the bathroom, but I couldn't bring myself to use the coffee maker. Fortunately Starbucks is two block away.

The breakfast was standard Embassy fare, just fine, particularly since it's free. The real issue with the restaurant is that it is in the atrium, with all of those accoustic issues. There was no noise in our bedroom, but in the sitting room area of our suite, the noise is very loud, starting at about 5:30 AM. (We were on the fourth floor with the curtains closed, and still had to keep turning the television higher whenever we were watching it to drown out the restaurant noise.)

During our stay, the staff was accommodating and very pleasant, but (as other reviewers have mentioned) they offer absolutely nothing unless you specifically ask. Any requests for what I would consider very regular requests and questions were met with hesitation and a standard, "well, we can try but can't really promise that."

We left the hotel planning to make another reservation later this week for a stay in November, but now I'm having questions based upon looking at my bank statement. When I initially made the reservation I used a debit card to hold the reservation, and asked very specifically if the card would be authorized in advance. I was assured it would not be. When we checked in, we had a conversation with the front desk clerk, who again assured me that the debit card would not be authorized, since we were actually checking in with a different credit card. When we left the hotel, I was again assured the card had not been authorized. When I got home and looked on line, it showed that BOTH the debit card and the credit card had been authorized.

When I called the hotel and spoke to Diana (who answered the phone), I explained the situation. The response was that all cards are pre-authorized prior to guest arrival, which is contrary to what the reservations person told me, and contrary to two other people at the front desk. At the end of the conversation, I was told, "We've already released it, so you'll need to take that up with your bank."

Just acknowledging the frustration of a hotel guest and a simple "I'm sorry for the confusion" would have kept me as a repeat guest. That's probably not going to happen now.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room on the fourth floor, and away from the restaurant! Unfortunately, those a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timandfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Georgia
Level Contributor
246 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The title pretty much sums up our five-night stay. Everyone from the front desk, to the restaurant staff, to house cleaning was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was huge and typically held us over until dinner. The evening manager's reception was very generous - two hours of alcoholic/non-alcoholic beverages along with snacks. The location was also excellent - a couple minutes walk right across the street brought us to a private beach. On the downside, the property was old and in need of updating. The "private" beach was only to control access from the street. Once on the beach, people wander and settle pretty much wherever they please. The hotel pool was very small and the workout room was even smaller. Lastly, the hotel seems to take a beating from families traveling with children and most likely the Spring Break crowd earlier in the year. Since my wife and I traveled alone, it seemed very noisy especially on the weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for suites on the front (South side) of the building on 3rd or 4th floor for a view of the Gulf!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyTravel4_2_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Well if you are staying at this location your are are comming here for the beach,and you are paying a high price for it. If you stayed at Embassy suites anywhere in the past you come to relise that all are prety much the same and are a bit more expensive then the nearby hotels,all are clean have the full cook to order breakfast and free early evening cocktails,have a nice indoor courtyard etc. Our stay here was in mid-July so i relise this is the most peak time period you can visit Destin but at $245 a night with a AAA Discount this was way over priced even for Embassy Suites. The only complaint i have about this property is they only had one bar tender during the managers reception cocktail hour when the hotel was obviously filled to capacity.
So if you come to Destin in July you are paying for the location not the quality of this hotel so god help you if you get a rainy day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pokeroom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
4.4 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
5.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
7.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Address: 570 Scenic Gulf Dr., Destin, FL 32550-4014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Destin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#5 Business Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Destin - Miramar Beach is an all-suite hotel featuring amenities designed to pamper our guests: We are across the street from the gorgeous Gulf of Mexico with a private beach access, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast daily, complimentary Evening Reception nightly, Complimentary wired and wireless internet. Check in 4pm / Check out is 11am. Age Restrictions 25 to checkin. We are across the street from our lovely beach. 100 yards from our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Destin - Miramar Beach Hotel Destin
Destin Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing