We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but needs some work.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I am a Hilton Honors member and have stayed at quite a few Embassy Suites in the past, but, unfortunately, our room wasn’t up to par with other Embassy Suites standards.

The curtains were very dingy and in fact when closed, had holes in them where the sun shown through. The walls were paper thin. We could hear laughter and talking in the next room as if the people were in the same room with us. Also, in the room on the other side of us, the person snored, and he sounded like he was in our room too! Needless to say, we had some sleepless nights. In the past, we usually put the air conditioning fan on to provide a white noise, but the fan setting in this room did not drown out the noise.

On a positive note, the lobby was beautiful. The complimentary breakfast and happy hour were very good. The hotel is located across the street from a private beach where you can rent umbrellas and chairs for the day and have it charged to your room. Very convenient!

All in all we had a nice stay. With a few upgrades, this hotel could meet the standards of the Embassy Suites brand.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,337 - 1,343 of 1,482 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

We were checking out the Destin area, and happened on this location. The Miramar beach area is a bit north of Destin, just off the main drag, which made it quieter, and closer to the beach. We could see the beach from our room, and it was a short walk across the street to the lovely white powder beaches that are characteristic of the area. The hotel was in very good condition, with lovely linens, good pillows, and the "suite" arrangement makes for more comfort. The breakfast had both hot and cold choices and was fresh and generous. The only thing that would have made it ideal is if it had been right on the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcubed48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The room itself was average, but the service was great. I had no issues with my stay. I would say save your money from getting the celebration suit if you didn't really need it. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic. Freshly made omelette made by a sweet lady. Then there also a hot breakfast buffet with everything I could think of having. The beach was also very close and not packed. The beach there is beyond beautiful..

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonandEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Love the location right across the street from the beach. Chairs and umbrellas can be rented and there was plenty of private space. Manager's cocktail reception was great!! Bartender and servers were very friendly and accomodating. Full breakfast - something for everyone. Loved the door between the 2 sleeping rooms - perfect for our family of 5. The only complaint I have was the bathroom. Tub, faucets, toilet all really showing there age and vents were dirty. Didn't bother us so much that we would not stay again. Definately would choose to stay here again - close to restaurants and shopping if you are stuck on a rainy day.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveMyThree3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Had great view to the ocean. It is across the street from hotel, but not bad at all. Downstairs sitting area is great. Stayed 5 nights. Great stay for couples or the girls.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigmac38732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed for two nights in their so-called Celebration Suite just last week. Wished we could have better spent the money on a different hotel or a condo (even if it was a bit more expensive than this property).
- Hotel is NOT on the Beach, it is across from the beach. Have to cross the street and walk to the beach.
DO NOT get deceived by the pictures posted on the Hotel's site where they show the rooms with an Ocean view. Crap - ours was an Ocean view Suite and YES we could see the ocean from far away :-)
- Made to order and a wide choice of breakfast options - very good
- Plain popcorn, chips n salsa or chick peas salad at the happy hours !!
- Uncomfortable bed and pillows
- Can hear the showers/flush noise real loud (from the above and next door rooms) horrible it is...
- Very small outdoor pool (overlooking parking lot)

Overall we were extremely disappointed with our choice to stay at this property and felt pinched every minute for spending $275 for just one night at this cheap property !

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The hotel is quiet, clean, and comfortable. The manager's reception and breakfast was outstanding. The employees were friendly. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a celebration suite which has a view of the gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vodmarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
2.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
4.4 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
5.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Destin
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach

Address: 570 Scenic Gulf Dr., Destin, FL 32550-4014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Destin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#5 Business Hotel in Destin
Price Range: $141 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Destin - Miramar Beach is an all-suite hotel featuring amenities designed to pamper our guests: We are across the street from the gorgeous Gulf of Mexico with a private beach access, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast daily, complimentary Evening Reception nightly, Complimentary wired and wireless internet. Check in 4pm / Check out is 11am. Age Restrictions 25 to checkin. We are across the street from our lovely beach. 100 yards from our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Destin - Miramar Beach Hotel Destin
Destin Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing