We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Bagel Joint”
Review of Not Just Bagels - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Not Just Bagels
Restaurant details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Typical Bagel Joint”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Although seemingly fresh, contrary to popular opinion these are NOT NY-style bagels. The evidence is that they are not individually cooked and the steamer in the kitchen. If that's not an issue for you, then the bagels are fine and the sandwiches are Ok however both times I've visited the service was slow- not so much by the order taker but in that there was only one person preparing all the food and so sometimes they had several orders in front of yours.

If you are looking for NY-style bagles, you will be dissapointed as I was. These are typical bagels you find at the national chains and are clearly prepared that way instead of the traditional, immigrant NY-style.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fdwt994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallassee
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great bagels!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

These are wonderful/New York Style bagels....pricey! But delicious! We have been coming here for several years and they remain great! Good coffee too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Cincinnati
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My son and I picked up sandwiches and a salad for lunch. He is pretty picky about his sandwiches...and he absolutely loved it. The bagel was delicious and the salad was great. Nice place for lunch!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank delrio69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great bagels if its not out of your way.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Service was terrible. There were two girls working and they acted as of we were an inconvenience to them and answered my questions snotty. The bagels were delicious, we had cinnamon crunch, French toast, salt, and blueberry. The cheesecake cream cheese was amazing, although pricey. We also had the veggie cream cheese and a Cuban. The sandwich was good once the brown smelly turkey was removed. The bagels were large enough to fill each of us up for lunch. Don't go out of your way to get here, but if you are close run in and grab some bagels.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachmama--0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent food for the price”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We have a restuarant.com voucher, so decided to try on our way into Destin. We had lunch for 2 for under $10 with our discount. Bagels were huge. I had the rueben sandwich, pretty good

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank softail99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Not Just Bagels also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing