We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average basic seafood joint with live band”

Hammerheads Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Hammerheads Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #103 of 308 Restaurants in Destin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
658 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Average basic seafood joint with live band”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We've been to Hammerheads several times over the years and still the same. Basic vacation eatery with outdoor seating and live band. Little pricy for the food you get. Tuna dip was spicy and little watery (too much mayo) but not bad. Grouper was fried with spicy Cajun batter. Tarter sauce is actually a spicy Cajun mayo concoction. Grouper platter with fries and cole slaw was $27 so pricy for a "fish basket". Even grouper sandwich was $20 so expect to pay for the food. At least the fish was tasty, fries were batter fried and cole slaw was fresh. As for drinks we stuck with the Hammer, Damn the weather and Florida sunset all well made and strong.

For Baytowne Wharf area this is good for a meal and live music. Basically your high priced meal includes the live music.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    225
    123
    76
    109
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's your Average, Beach Vacation Restaurant”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Hammerheads is one of those beach vacation eateries that has average food! It was okay but not a place I'd visit again. Somewhat pricey for what you get on your plate! What's that saying, "It is what it is!" It's a nice location and has good music and atmosphere. An appetizer and drink would be fine!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kksavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hammerhead Bar and dump”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Don't waste your time here. Atmosphere was great here but that is were it ended. $25 to $30 for basilly gloriefied fish Baskets. Had a grouper basket with fries and coleslaw. Wanted a side salad but had no other choices Fries or slaw that's it. The grouper was half breaded and half fish . Tasted like frozen not fresh and not sure it was grouper . Others in group had Shrimp and it was tough and also not freash but taste like frozen at the supermarket.
To top it off our drinks came in styrofoam cups and catsup in those little packets you tear the ends off. What a dump . You would think after paying $115.00 for three adults and two children you would at least have drinks in a glass .
If you go to Baytown Wharf skip this place and try another resterurant there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron5078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Owner at Hammerheads Bar & Grill, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
We're very sorry to hear about your recent visit. Our goal at HammerHead's is to provide great tasting food at a reasonable price in a casual resort atmosphere, and we're sorry we didn't meet your expectations. There is no excuse for tasteless seafood, and we'll be sure to pass your feedback on to staff. If you do join us again, we would encourage you to let your waiter/waitress or the general manager know about your dissatisfaction so that we can better tend to your party immediately. Thank you again for your business and we apologize for your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Better than Yours!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great customer service, great placement in Destin, and most importantly, FANTASTIC oysters! These are by far the best oysters you will ever have all thanks to Hammerheads! Keep up the great work.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RCorbett3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
1 review
“Great service and great times”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food and service. We sat outside overlooking the water with our family and had an excellent time

Helpful?
Thank Gary33510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammerheads Bar & Grill also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Sandestin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Sandestin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Hammerheads Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing