We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“long wait but some fun combinations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shake's Custard

Shake's Custard
Ranked #2 of 20 Dessert in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“long wait but some fun combinations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

You can always find something different at Shakes. The drive through will be wrapped around the block so I always park and wlk up. Much faster. You'll find something different and tasty for sure.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tulsabobt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    93
    32
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Every single day we were in Destin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We usually have a "no-chain" rule on vacations, but with Shake's, we just couldn't say no! We literally stopped by every single day we were in the area! The Shake's Bopper & the Pink Poodle were our go-to's. They've got plenty of outdoor seating and are right smack in the middle of the main strip through town.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
217 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A Destin Classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

we always stop by shakes for dessert when we're in Destin. It is basically frozen custard but is a great treat on a really hot day or evening. We usually get blueberry or raspberry malts and they are always excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackfish28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“wow-rich and creamy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

if you haven't tried custard ice cream, this is worth it! they also have pints to go. My favorite drive thru desserts in Destin!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SoniSites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Birthday cake shake!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

The cake batter milkshake was to die for - try it! Seemed a bit on the expensive side, but it was worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TXHotelSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shake's Custard also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Shake's Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing