We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of 790 On The Gulf

790 On The Gulf
Ranked #63 of 306 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 790 On the gulf was established in June of 2009, and is located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. Located on the ground floor of The Inn At Crystal Beach, 790 has become a huge favorite with locals and visitors alike! As the roots of the owners are from South Louisiana, they bring to Destin authentic dark roux Gumbos, Muffalettas, and much more! Here at 790 we continue to strive to bring to the table the freshest seafood available on the Gulf coast. Working with local seafood vendors, as well as seafood vendors in neighboring states, we have fresh fish brought in daily. Most in small quantities to insure freshness and quality. We prefer to be temporarily out of a menu item, than to compromise the quality. We look forward to you stopping by and watching the waves roll in with us....
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

One of the best locations in Destin for a great dining view. A very comfortable place with great happy hour offerings. The menu is Louisianna influenced with an obviously experienced chef. The Duck and Andouille gumbo was excellent but could have been helped with a little okra. Blackened Chicken over noodles with Crawfish Jambalaya was spicy and tasty. Equally tasty was the Almond crusted grouper.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimmysim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    86
    53
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Destin, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great food with a beautiful view!!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My friend and I had a ladies lunch yesterday at this tried and true locals favorite. it seems I always order the crab, shrimp and lobster dip which is always delicious and, of course, the bottomless Bellini :) We shared the fish tacos which were outstanding and had a good kick to them. Block off a good two hours at least and enjoy the view of the beautiful Destin beach.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryR0seH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed with this restaurant”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We sat on the patio in beautiful weather and enjoyed the view of the beach. The service was extremely slow and the food was mediocre. We will not return to 790 on the Gulf.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CindyAnnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“and the view was super also”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were a party of four and we wanted to make the "happy hour" since we had heard many great things about this restaurant.We had cups of gumbo,spicy smokey tuna dip and the early bird special of shrimp and cheesey grits.The wines were very good and the beers were very cold.We enjoyed the sunset and left feeling this definitely is a restaurant we will visit again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IndianaLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Beach, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location and sunsets. Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were there in early March, 2013 and they had a 'happy hour' menu that was wonderful. Small portions of a nice variety of foods like shrimp and grits, sesame tuna -- beautifully rare and tender. The shrimp and crawfish gumbo had some heat but was very tasty. Good service. Nice atmosphere. Right on the Gulf so beautiful sunsets.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cmr03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 790 On The Gulf also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to 790 On The Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing